Morning Wyrd people,
I've an Avatar question. If you end up being a blue cat person...wait, wrong Avatar.
*ahem* - Avatars are something that show up "in-game" as opposed to "start game" correct? Or was I told wrong? It's not an alternate version of the master (such as the Epic versions of Warcasters/Warlocks in Warmahordes), but something you can do over the course of a game?
If so, where do you find the rules for these? Can you still get by with just the core book and the cards, or do you need to pick up one of the expansions? Do the 1.5 rules (or whatever the newest core book is) cover Avatar information? I suppose a similar question with effigies - do you need a particular book to make sense of them?