An interesting scenario turned up my game last night that seemed to fall through the rules:

When heroes (and other similar characters) join units they cannot be usually targeted. Furthermore, the rules go on to explain that extra wounds caused in combat do not cascade over from the character to the Rn'F and I believe opposite holds true. We wouldn't find anything in the rules to handle shooting.

Scenario: a unit of 7 elves + hero are in range of 2 organ guns. 14 hits are rolled and with 2+ to wound pretty much everything does. Does the character live on or gets turned into red mist with his kin?

Thanks