Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: 3 D's: Daemons & Dungeons & Dragons

3 D's: Daemons & Dungeons & Dragons

July 28, 2011
    This plog was originally created as a work journal for the models I painted for my Dark Sun D&D campaign. Recently though the campaign had to be shelved due to schedule restraints of my players. It happens.

In the interim I plan to continue this plog with my work on a Chaos Daemons army, as well as some of the D&D miniatures as I finish them. Thanks for supporting all my efforts.

~Muninn

February 12, 2011

For my Dark Sun game, I've been trying to tailor minis for the game. I'm an avid model painter, so I've been doing my best to make some encounters seem more special by crafting models for some of the fights. I don't think I've ever seen a D&D project log on this forum before, but I figure'd this would be the best place for it.

One of the first encounters I'm tossing my players into is the Tembo (as seen above), which is like the Dark Sun equivalent of the Bogeyman. A model exists, but I don't care for it. So one of the bigger parts of this project is to make a suitable Tembo mini.

For starters, I purchased the Reaper P-65 Sabertooth for the base. It has a similar shape, and looks beefy without being a large model. I went with the high lead-content model because it's softer, and I knew I was going to have to cut away quite a bit, and lead is softer and is easier to work with.

So far what I've done is trim away the "sideburns" and most of the areas that appear hairy. I trimmed, cut, and filed away portions below the shoulders and back so that it would appear less mammalian. There's a tuft of throat fur that I wasn't comfortable cutting away entirely, so I turned it into a waddle, like what you'd see under a chicken's throat. Another area that I left alone were the tufts of fur lining the legs. I didn't think I could trim them away and have it look presentable, so I'll just try to paint them as though they're reptilian frills.