I am new to playing GK and have a pretty basic question about how nemesis force weapons work.
It states in the 40K rulebook that force weapons are power weapons that confer an additional power to the user (instant death providing a psychic test is passed).
In the GK codex the rules states a GK must pass a psychic test to 'activate' their weapons and confer the benfits that particular weapon gives.
The question is this. If I choose not to activate the force weapons do they still confer the benfits of being power weapons regardless of whether I choose to take a psychic test?
In a similer vein does the daemon hammer still have the abilities of a Thunder Hammer regardless of whether I choose to activate it or not?
In other words if a strike squad activates hammerhand and thus uses up its one psychic test per turn do they strike as S5 power weapons or S5 but allowing normal saves?
Any help would be appreciated as obviously this is a big part of the GK codex!