It’s been four months now since the last update for the FAQ’s and we’ve seen 2 new books released with nothing on a few still existing issues.
This is a list of commonly asked rules questions that either a) are just that, commonly asked and not answered in GW's official FAQ's or b) Do not have a sufficient answer in the current rules and kept silent about by gentleman's agreement.
Also, suggestions are always appreciated, and my original list of 20 has expanded to... this. Some have been answered over time, but many (far too many) remain.
So without further adeiu...
- B01. Is line of sight bound by the position of a model's eyes (or eye sockets)? What if the model has no eyes or has eyes that can see behind itself? How should this relate to magic items/abilities that use a model's line of sight (eg. Doom Totem)?
- Mv01. Is a "failed charge" conducted using the charge movement rules or the normal movement rules as far as measuring wheels and the number of wheels allowed?
- Mv02. If two units with different base sizes charge a single opponent, is it more important to equalize the charging units, maximize the models or contact, or is it the charging players descretion?
- Mv03. If a unit is unable to close the door when charging, the enemy closes the door instead. Does this apply even if the enemy unit is already engaged with one or more units? If so, are all units moved? If not does the charge fail?
Magic (not spells)
- Mg01. Do Spell Lores from older army books follow the four restrictions listed on p31 for Choosing a Target?
- CC01. Can support attacks be made through models with larger foot prints (eg. Cavalry character in an infantry unit)?
- CC02. If a unit consists of multiple different rank-and-file model types, how are hits distributed? Do excess wounds overflow from one group of models onto the other? How are casualties removed stepping up handled?
- CC03. When making a combat reform, may command models not be put in the front when the reform is complete (models in contact must stay in contact)?
- If you win combat against two units and break them, you must choose one to pursue. If you roll enough movement to move into contact with the unit you chose not to pursue, is it treated as pursuit into a new enemy (and therefore destroyed)? If no do you stop 1" away?
- SR01. Killing Blow FAQ could be clarified: is it intended that characters which are mounted on Monstrous Beasts becoming Monstrous Cavalry can be victims of Killing Blow? If so, what about special characters who are Monstrous Cavalry (eg. Archaon)?
- SR02. How should special rules/items that affect units of split profile models affect the unit (eg. Frenzy on a cavalry unit)?
- SR03. If a model with regeneration is struck with flaming attacks and non-flaming attacks in the same initiative step, is it allowed to regenerate the non-flaming attacks?
- SR04. If a character with regenration is in a unit without and the unit is wounded by Flaming Attacks, does the character lose his regeneration for that phase?
- SR05. Can abilities that affect models in base contact affect those making supporting attacks (eg. the Nightshroud affects models in base contact and removes strength bonuses from weapons, would models making supporting attacks be able to use their strength bonuses)?
- SR06. Can Sniper be used in combination with Multiple Shots?
- SR07. If a chariot has no crew, what WS and Ld are used, the steed? If the chariot is mounted by a character, is his WS used?
- SR08. Do units with the Scouts special rule count as the last deployed units when using the Alternating Units rules for determining who goes first?
- SR09. Are units that cause Fear in certain units (eg. Units with Flaming Attacks cause fear to Cavalry) immune to Fear from these units? Immune to Fear in general?
- Ch01. How are Breath Attacks and (Thunder)Stomp used in a challenge, are they directed only at the opposing model in the challenge?
- Ch02. Can a character Make Way! after the first round of a combat?
- Ch03. Must a Frenzying unit pass a Berserk Rage test before a character can charge out of the unit or does the character's charge make the unit unable to charge itself?
- Ch04. Can a unit have 3 or more characters with odd footprints in it (eg. Orcs in a goblin unit)? If so, how can the characters be placed?
- Ch05. If a multipart model with separate parts that can be slain (eg. a character on a monster or chariot) is hit by a template that forces a characteristic test and each part is hit then which value is used for each test, the part that was hit or the best (p10, characteristic tests)? If a failed test removes 'the model', does just that part die or is the whole model killed?
- Ch06. If a multipart model with separate parts that can be slain is hit by a spell or ability that affects 'every model in the target unit', is it hit just once or once for each part (eg. Dwellers Below, Flames of the Phoenix)? If just once, how is it then resolved?
- Ch07. Can a character who cannot be the general (eg a battle standard bearer) have a higher Ld than the general?
- Ch08. If a model is called upon to make an individual Ld test (ie. not the unit), and is inside a unit, if the unit is within range of a battle standard but the model is not, can the model re-roll? Same with Inspiring Presence?
- Ch09. Some chariots have only characters for 'crew'. What WS is used for hitting said chariots? If the character dies, what Ld is used for the chariot?
- Ch10: If the general's unit and another unit are both affected by an area of effect special rule that reduces their Ld (eg. The Hell Totem, Aura of Dark Majesty) then will this be applied twice, once to modify the general's Inspiring Presence and then once more to the unit?
- Wm01. Which WS does a Warmachine use when being attacked if it has more than one value, the highest or the majority (eg. Orc Bully, Anvil of Doom)?
- Wm02. Can a cannon fire towards a unit it has Line of Sight to if it doesn't have Line of Sight to a point on the ground a suitable distance ahead of the target? Can a cannon fire towards a unit it doens't have Line of Sight to if it does have Line of Sight to a point in front of it?
- Wm03. There are some models that fire 'like' a specific kind warmachine without being one (eg. Hellcannon, Scraplauncher). Do they follow all the rules for 'Shooting With Warmachines' on p109 (unless stated otherwise)? Does the Ironcurse Icon work against them?
- WM04. Must a warmachine select its target within Line of Sight before pivoting?
- R01. Is a magic lance or mounted spear used past the first round of combat (p90: lance vs reference: I'm Using This One)? If not, may you use a special weapon rather than a hand weapon?
- R02. If a model in a challenge was swapped using the Smoke and Mirrors Shadow Lore Attribute, is the new character now part of that challenge or is the challenge ended?
- R03. If a wizard uses Smoke and Mirrors on the turn he charged, can the model model inflict Impact Hits as if he were charging (eg. an Ogre wizard or a wizard on a chariot swapping for another character)?
- R04. For the Lore of Beasts spell Curse of Anraheir, is open ground to be counted as Dangerous Terrain?
- R05. How will the Other Trickster's Shard affect a unit with a Ward Save? eg. A Chaos Lord with the Shard, in a unit of Warrriors, fighting a unit of Phoenix Guard. Will Warriors in contact with Phoenix Guard in contact with the Lord be able to take advantage of the item?
- R06. Can a magical vortex be cast a) towards a unit in combat? b) by a wizard in combat?
- R07. If an individual model in a unit is called upon to use its own "unmodified Ld" (e.g. Spirit Leech), do you use the highest in the unit or the Ld on its profile?
- R08. If a model has an ability granted by a magic weapon (e.g. Empire Sword of Justice allows the bearer to re-roll wounds), does that apply to only close combat attacks or any attacks made by the characters (e.g. spells or ranged attacks)?
- R09. Can bound items be used in conjunction with arcane items such as scrolls that don't provide a casting bonus? E.g. using the Tricker's Shard and Ruby Ring of Ruin in conjunction with each other.
Orcs and Goblins:
- O&G01. Does Gaze of Mork allow Look Out Sir rolls? Does it hit more than 1 model per rank?
- O&G02. The cost of the Orc with Two Hand Weapons on p96 (8 points) is not consistant with the unit entry on p104 (7 points). Which of these is correct?
- O&G03. Do Fanatics and Mangler Squigs obey the 1" rule? If so, how are they handled if they land within an inch of a unit and there is no room to move them due to other units?
- O&G04. If a Squig Herder unit has only Night Goblins left and it flees, Does the Squigs Go Wild rule take effect?
Warriors of Chaos:
- WoC01. How should Mark of Khorne and the Banner of Rage be applied to Chaos Chariots, Chaos Knights, and Marauder Horsemen; to one element or to all?
- WoC02. If a model fails its Fear test and tries to attack a model with the Mark of Nurgle, is it then incapable of attacking from having WS0?
- Woc03. What is the unit type of a character mounted on an infantry mount (eg. Chaos Palanquin)?
- WoC04. Are Archaon's attacks doubled before or after any other modifiers (eg. Frenzy)? Can his total attacks from the unleashed Slayer of Kings exceed 10?
Daemons of Chaos:
- DoC01. What is the unit type of a character mounted on an infantry mount (eg. Chaos Palanquin)?
- DoC02. Can Siren Song be used on a unit in a building?
- DoC03. Are daemonic icons fully "magic items" including the uniqueness restriction, or simply "magic items" for rules and effects that target magic items?
- DoC04. Will a character with the Torment Blade gain +1A for having 2 hand weapons? Will this apply to any other gifts?
- Lm01. If Cupped Hands is used to trade off the effects of a miscast to a model which has a special rule concerning miscasts (Horrors, Taeclis, etc.), does the special rule involving miscasts take precedence over the miscast result?
- Lm02. Is a Slaan in a Temple Guard unit forbidden from casting spells that hit everything in their path (eg. Burning Head) since the model in the first rank will be hit or should this model be ignored?
- Sk01. Does Cracks Call allow Look Out Sir rolls? Can it hit more than 1 model per rank?
- Sk02. How will a Warpfire Thrower resolve a Stand and Shoot if the distance the template moves is insufficient to contact the enemy (Stand and Shoot assumes to be within maximum range of the weapon), even if a 10 is rolled?
- Sk03. Does Strength in Numbers apply to special rules or attacks that check leadership but are not explicitly a test, eg. Banshee Scream?
- Dw01. Can the Rune of Challenge be used on a unit in a building?
- HE01. Does the Loremaster's Cloak provide a save against spells that are resolved like close combat attacks (Bladewind) or inflict combat attacks (Horekhah's Incantation of Smiting)?
- HE02. If Vaul's Unmaking is used on an item that has already used it's effect (eg. Storm Banner, Sivejir's Hex Scroll) does the effect end?
- Bm01. Does the Hagtree Fetish work with the Feedback Scroll? With a spell that wounds without using Strength (eg. The Caress of Laniph, Lore of Metal spells)
- OK01. If a wizard is hit by a spell from a butcher/slaughtermaster/fire belly with the Greedy Fist, will he lose wizard levels? If so, is it one per hit or one per spell?
- OK02. If the Hellheart causes a model which has a special rule concerning miscasts (eg Teclis, Horrors of Tzeentch) to roll on the miscast table, does the special rule involving miscasts take precedence?
- OK03. Does Golfag Maneater have Stubborn and Vanguard when not accompanying his maneaters? May he use different rules from Been There, Done That?
- OK04. Can the Rune Maw redirect a miscast of the spell The Maw?
- VC01. Can the Lore Attribute be used to heal characters or their mounts?
- VC02. Does Invocation of Nehek will heal only one Wound on a Vampire model in a single casting. As Blood Knights only have one Wound each, can it raise multiple models?
- TK01: If a unit is accompanied by a model with My Will Be Done is affected by a spell or ability that reduced its WS, (eg. Melkoth's Mystifying Miasma), does the unit ignore the reduction in favour of the character's unmodified WS?
- Em01. How does a Regimental Unit give Steadfast to a Detachment?
- Em02. Does a Steamtank get an Armour Save against wounds caused by its Misfire table? Any other saves?
I'll keep this post continually updated with the current state of these questions. Also, as I own only a small portion of the books, I don't have all the burning questions, so feel free to ask more on the thread below.
Past incarnations of this thread are here: 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0.
2012/02/12 - Added Sniper Question to SR, added OK2-4, removed chariot without crew question from TK and DoC and put it in G-SR. Removed O&G fanatic vs. Mangler question. Fixed some minor placement errors, examples, and typos.
2012/03/21 - Added VC02 and Sk03.
2012/04/22 - Added SR08 and 09. WM04 added.
2012/04/24 – Added Ch10, TK01, and Em01. All the new books have at least one question of their own now.
2012/04/27 - Modified Em01. Added Em02.