So, at my club this week I heard about a game in which a player had a very survivable unit due to the fact that it was two independent characters attached to one another, and he was allocating all wounds onto one of them, leaving the other unscathed. I immediately figured this was a mistake and so we all looked it up after the fact. The player who did this cites this bit of the rules as his reason:
This seems very clear to me: the bit is there to let you know that, yes, you can allocate wounds to the IC as a part of the unit. Our player, however, has interpreted this to mean you can choose to allocate as many or as few wounds to the IC as you like, and can soak them up without having other wounds on the unit.Originally Posted by Under Independent Characters and Shooting, page 49
I think we all know the answer to this one, but I was having a hard time articulating it in any concrete way other than pointing to standard would allocation rules and pointing out that no one in a unit can have a second wound until everyone has a first, but his argument is that since this is two ICs attached to each other he can do as he pleases, since this rule lets him allegedly choose not to put wounds on some ICs while putting all wounds on others.
This seems very clearly wrong to me because it would obviously break the game in half in so many units. Help me to explain it in a more irrefutable way, if at all possible!
* * * * * * * * *
The Bonus Question: The same player, using Grey Knights, was able to make his Culexus assassin's Str5 AP1 weapon have tons of shots due to proximity with other psykers, somehow. He argued that a particular unit (not GKs, Henchmen I think) yielded one extra shot per model because they were psykers, and that while the Grey Knights count as one for this purpose this other squad somehow didn't. This one, I am just curious on, but it seemed off to me and came up in the same argument.