So a few quick questions
1. Can I exit a building with one unit and put another in it in the same turn?
2. If a unit overruns into a building it stops one inch away? Even if it is garrisoned?
Originally Posted by NixonAsADaemonPrince
Originally Posted by Lord Inquisitor
2) By the letter of the rules, building assaults are done in the movement phase (so you would stop 1" away if you overran into contact with an garrisoned building), but whether this is intentional or not is up for debate... On one hand, overrunning is treated as a charge, on the other it seems realistic that a building assault should have to be a planned affair, rather than just an opportunistic or accidental rush (decide who should go in, surround the building, map out entrypoints, cut down a small tree for a battering ram, dismount the horses and tie them up somewhere, etc).
It is one of those things you should agree on howe to solve it before the game starts.
2. Debatable. It is frequently argued according to the rules for buildings that you can only "assault" them, and these rules specifically deal with normal charges. Of course, this makes it impossible for models with the Random Movement special rule to ever assault or otherwise enter a building.
However, the rules for pursuit into a fresh enemy indicates that you resolve this as a normal charge, so I figure that's good enough to allow for an assault against a garrisoned building.