Quick question that came up in a game I had,
Say a unit with a full command group and 3 characters in it comes into contact with another unit. 1 character is in the second rank due to the command group (5 models wide unit).
I wanted to use the make way rule to displace as command group model to get the character into combat (as the make way rules say that this can happen).
But my opponent claimed you can only displace a command model if there is space somewhere else in the front rank for him to go (as in if there were only 2 characters and the models in base to base were only 50% so a character on the edge was not in base to base he could then "switch" with a command person in combat.) I got his reasoning and we carried on but wanted a second opinion.
So can you shunt a command model to the 2nd rank using "Make Way" and if so when do they revert to normal positioning.