So this just came up in a game I recently played...Me playing Vampire Counts against Ogres.
I took a unit of Skeletons, with a Necromancer and Ethereal Characters (Tomb Banshee/Cairn Wraith) all in the same unit. Over the course of a couple rounds of combat, all of the skeletons were wiped out, but the unit held. The only models left were the Necromancer and the ethereal characters....so what happens?
Non-ethereal characters cannot join ethereal models, but they started in the same unit. We couldn't decide what would happen. Do the characters immediately cease to be one unit - the Necromancer and the Ethereal characters become two separate combats? Do they stay in one unit until the end of the combat (keep in mind that characters cannot leave units if it's not the movement phase)? Or can all the characters stay as one unit due to some weird loophole?
I kind of doubt that there's a 100% correct ruling, though I may be wrong. I'd just like to know how other people would have played it out. What are your thoughts?