Been playing a lot of fantasy lately, and haven't used my swarmlord in about 8 months! Had a game last night and this came up. Im fairly sure I did everything right, but I would just like it clarified.
According to the codex and FAQ, the swarmlord is not an independent character when joined by tyrant guard, it is a squad. Which I took as it been like an upgrade char in a way.
This meant when it came to CC, that the swarmlord could not be targeted separately by the enemies blows, and I got to assign wounds as per a normal squad, which let me put the sole force weapon wound on a tyrant guard (he failed the psycic test after this anyway, but still...)
The downside however meant my opponent got to roll to hit against the majority weaponskill of the unit, which meant he got to hit on 4+ instead of 5+ if he had been allowed to target the swarmlord.
So basically, was this all correct?