In the rulebook, it says that if a model with ASF is fighting an enemy with ASF, their attacks are made simultaneously and neither benefits from the rerolls.
I was wondering what exactly counts as "fighting"?
If a model with ASF (A) is in close combat and base contact with two enemy models (B and C), one of which (B) has ASF, then it can choose which of the two to attack. The attacks of A and B will happen simultaneously, and before C attacks. B will attack A and will not benefit from re-rolls. If A attacks B, A does not benefit from re-rolls. If A attacks C, A benefits from re-rolls, so long as C is of equal/lower Initiative.
Dear Game Designer. Rock is cheese. Paper is fine. Regards, Scissors.
Okay, okay, I'll bite. Considering that ASF is limited to melee, I'd assume that the rule self-evidently refers to the combat resloution phase. Magic and shooting do not count and I don't really see what the confusion is.
What situation or interaction are you thinking about?
ninja'd - is the confusion for the OP what actually constitutes "fighting"?
You can achieve more through the application of kindness and a big stick than through kindness alone.
This situation came up recently:
C = High-Elf Character on Chariot
V = Vampire
G = Ghouls
The vampire and the high elf both had ASF.
I know that the vampire loses the rerolls for attacking the high-elf, but we weren't sure if the high-elf would also lose his rerolls if he attacked the ghouls, rather than the vampire.
My thought was that he would, since the vampire surely still counts as fighting him, and the ASF rule says that in that case neither model benefits from the reroll. However, I'm still relatively new to the game, so I thought I'd ask here.
However, within the context of resolving close combat attacks it is always clear which model is attacking who, and those models too can be said to be "fighting", even if the target model does not reciprocate with his own attacks.
It seems generally accepted that a model with ASF that attacks an enemy model without ASF will get the re-roll to hit (Initiative values permitting) even if he is in base contact with a different enemy model with ASF.
Will Orc for food!
And the vampire is fighting the HE so he does not get the re-roll since they also have the AFS rule.
But this is a case where you could argue it either way depending on what you would take the word fighting to mean.
I guess they where better of writing the rule as follows.
If a model whit ASF is attacking a other model whit ASF he does not get to re-roll regardless of I value
Models whit ASF strike at the at the same time.