Thats your big horrible example?
Yes , it is not clearly stated in the 'Destroyed-explodes!'rules but the FAQ's do back up the idea that the unit placed after an explosion 'counts as' disembarking.
The example given is worded a bit wonky (the vehicle would have had to have moved to disallow an assault, Open topped would not allow them to assault as per BRB FAQ
Hardly a damning ruling, especialy when they label it as a 'rules change' and is how most folks I know all play it.Q: Do any upgrades or special rules a vehicle has cease
to work once it is destroyed? (p61)
A: Yes. For example if a Land Raider Crusader is
destroyed by ramming an enemy vehicle, its embarked
passengers would not be able to launch an assault in
the ensuing Assault phase as they would no longer
benefit from its Assault Vehicle special rule
At the time of the so called nerf of ATSKNF, there were two strong points in the debate.
Each side had good arguements, the INAT took the weaker one as neither could be proved at that time (pre FAQ)
I found that to be a good call, yes many people didn't agree, but a fair call at that time.