Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

  1. #1
    Librarian SanDiegoSurrealist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    San Diego CA
    Posts
    379

    Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    pg 97 MRB
    If a Lone Character is hit by a shooting attack of any kind (including shoots fires using ballistic skill, templates, and so on) a look out sir roll can be be attempted so long as there is a friendly unit within 3".


    Does that mean that a Lone Character can get LOS roll vs. shooting say from a unit of Elven Archers?
    Having fun every time is more important than winning every time.

    Dark Angels | Lizardmen | Daemons of Chaos | Chaos Space Marines | 1 Imperial Knight

  2. #2
    Chapter Master Lorcryst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Belgium, between chair and keyboard
    Posts
    2,979

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    Yes, but note that you must have an unit of the same unit type within 3 inches, and that the "Look Out, Sir !" roll is on a 4+ when outside an unit.

    At least, that's how I read those rules
    My log : Fantasy ** Updated 24/06/2014** with pictures of Chaosy thingies !
    Lorcryst's Sales Thread ** Updated 14/07/2014 ** list updated with a piece of Citadel history !

  3. #3
    Librarian SanDiegoSurrealist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    San Diego CA
    Posts
    379

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    Ok then that brings up another question.

    A unit of 20 pointy ears try to pin cushion my Lone Dwarf Daemon Slayer, but alas the Daemon Slayer is 3" away from a unit of 20 Warriors. Does he get twenty look out sir rolls if they all hit? Or would it be 1 LOS roll for all 20 hits as a noble Dwarf Warrior valiantly dives in front of the hail of arrows; thus saving the Daemon Slayer a less than heroic death.
    Last edited by SanDiegoSurrealist; 15-06-2012 at 20:42.
    Having fun every time is more important than winning every time.

    Dark Angels | Lizardmen | Daemons of Chaos | Chaos Space Marines | 1 Imperial Knight

  4. #4
    Chapter Master Lorcryst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Belgium, between chair and keyboard
    Posts
    2,979

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    Ooooh, that's tricky ...

    The rule says that a member from the 3" closest unit takes the hit instead of the character ... so I'd say yes, twenty LOS rolls, with the "made" rolls meaning a to-wound roll on the Warriors and maybe an armour save, and the "missed" rolls meaning an arrow stuck in the Daemon Slayer (who has no save, so let's hope his toughness saves him).

    I'm not sure tough, maybe some of the Rule Gurus that frequent this hallowed place will have a better answer ...
    My log : Fantasy ** Updated 24/06/2014** with pictures of Chaosy thingies !
    Lorcryst's Sales Thread ** Updated 14/07/2014 ** list updated with a piece of Citadel history !

  5. #5
    Commander
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Saginaw, MI
    Posts
    525

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    Yes. Per hit.

  6. #6
    Chapter Master T10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Danger Zone!
    Posts
    7,714
    Does a banshee scream attack count as a single hit?

    (I can just imagine the troopers in the nearby regiment rushing in to clasp their hands about over the character's ears)
    Will Orc for food!

  7. #7
    Librarian
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Posts
    460

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    Can you actually LOS against a banshee scream attack anyway? I didn't think you could.

  8. #8
    Chapter Master theunwantedbeing's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Preston,in my house.
    Posts
    12,059

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    Quote Originally Posted by SimaoSegunda View Post
    Can you actually LOS against a banshee scream attack anyway? I didn't think you could.
    Yup, well lone characters can anyway it's against shooting attacks of any kind.

    edit:
    okay so I checked the VC book and it seems a banshee scream isn't actually a shooting attack (daft but at least it means it cannot stand and shoot)
    There is also no FAQ for Vampire Counts so untill that appears (if it does) we won't have any official ruling to say otherwise
    Last edited by theunwantedbeing; 16-06-2012 at 00:47.
    Plan B kill it with fire
    Meat is Murder tasty, tasty murder
    Quote Originally Posted by RanaldLoec View Post
    I would have to agree with The Unwantedbeing as he is a paragon of sense and reason in an unreasonable environment.

  9. #9

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    A Banshee scream is not a shooting attack.

    It is "a special attack that can be used in the shooting phase, even if the Banshee has marched, charged or is engaged in close combat."

    P31 Vampire Counts army book.

    No look out sir.

    Change is the constant that cannot be changed.

    No game of chess can be won without pawns and this may prove to be a very long game.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLnIFn-iROE

  10. #10

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    I just really, really like the visual of Dwarf Daemonslayer getting pushed over by a Warrior just in time for the arrow to hit the Warrior. The Daemonslayer picks himself up off the ground, mutters something about honour, just in time for another Warrior to shove him out the way and take his place as an arrow comes in an kills him. The daemonslayers picks himself up again, mutters something even louder, when another shoves him to the ground. And then again. And again, 20 times in all.

  11. #11
    Chapter Master T10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Danger Zone!
    Posts
    7,714
    Quote Originally Posted by NitrosOkay View Post
    A Banshee scream is not a shooting attack.

    It is "a special attack that can be used in the shooting phase, even if the Banshee has marched, charged or is engaged in close combat."

    P31 Vampire Counts army book.

    No look out sir.
    Your answer hinges on "special attacks" and "shooting attacks" being mutually exclusive, which seems unfounded. I'll hold my breath in anticipation of a FAQ or a more convincing argument.
    Will Orc for food!

  12. #12
    Librarian Mid'ean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Nowhere is particular
    Posts
    476

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    And in this case they are exclusive of each other. Someone tries to say it's a shooting attack then I'm going to S&S next time he is charged.......
    Last edited by Mid'ean; 15-06-2012 at 11:13.

  13. #13
    Librarian
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Posts
    460

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Mid'ean View Post
    And in this case they are exclusive of each other. Someone tries to say it's a shooting attack then I'm going to S&S next time he is charged.......
    Quite. Just because something happens in the shooting phase, doesn't make it a shooting attack, in the same way that the Masque uses his/her/it's dance in the magic phase, that doesn't make it a spell.

  14. #14
    Commander dementian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    725

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Mid'ean View Post
    And in this case they are exclusive of each other. Someone tries to say it's a shooting attack then I'm going to S&S next time he is charged.......
    And I am gonna stand and shoot with my magic missile from my caster...

  15. #15
    Chapter Master T10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Danger Zone!
    Posts
    7,714
    You have the power dice for that? Might as well start dispelling an enemy's charge.
    Will Orc for food!

  16. #16
    Librarian Iraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    422
    Well, you might if you're a Grey Seer

  17. #17
    Chapter Master T10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Danger Zone!
    Posts
    7,714
    Quote Originally Posted by Iraf View Post
    Well, you might if you're a Grey Seer
    Still need a minimum of one dice from the power pool.
    Will Orc for food!

  18. #18
    Librarian Iraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    422
    Not for warp tokens. Powers stone you do.

  19. #19

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Mid'ean View Post
    And in this case they are exclusive of each other. Someone tries to say it's a shooting attack then I'm going to S&S next time he is charged.......
    Thats a little hard to do Mid'ean since Undead only may choose "Hold" as a charge reaction, its in the definition of being Undead. You can give the whole VC army wood elf longbows and they can still only hold against a charge.

  20. #20
    Veteran Sergeant
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    94

    Re: Lone Character Look Out Sir Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Blkc57 View Post
    Thats a little hard to do Mid'ean since Undead only may choose "Hold" as a charge reaction, its in the definition of being Undead. You can give the whole VC army wood elf longbows and they can still only hold against a charge.
    LOL, No way, VC can't run from a charge they have to hold always, but that doesn't mean you can't Stand and shoot, S&S it's just another way to hold the lines (but shooting all you've got!!)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •