For Terrorgheists:Wounds from a Ghostly Howl are magical attacks and are distributed as if from shooting
Ergo, both tell you to distribute the wounds as though they were from regular shooting.A Death Shriek is a magical attack and Wounds suffered from it are distributed as from shooting
The regular shooting rules have a specific clause stating that you cannot target units engaged in close combat. To me, this is the same as stating that you cannot distribute wounds from shooting to a unit engaged in close combat. I do however realise that many will not interpret it in the same way, but it raises enough doubt in my mind that I give my opponent the benefit.
The howl is not treated as a regular shooting attack due to it not needing to hit, not needing to wound and not being able to make a stand and shoot charge reaction.
You can argue that the description on using the scream enables it to target units in combat, but there is no statement that explicitly states "You can shoot a unit enagaged in combat", merely a quesitonable implicit one. As such, I give my opposition the benefit of the doubt and play my Terrorgheist as not being able to. This is one for the FAQ however, whenever the damnable thing finally comes out.
The Terrorgheist/Banshee can only shoot into combat it is apart of, because of the fact that it says "...only target an enemy unit in base contact." You can't very well be in base contact with a unit unless you're in combat.
Last edited by Kayosiv; 21-06-2012 at 06:56.
Check out my Battle Reports: http://www.warseer.com/forums/showth...Battle-Reports
And my Project Log: http://www.warseer.com/forums/showth...25#post6754925
Comments are greatly appreciated.
The banshee scream attack causes a number of automatic wounds, which are distributed as shooting.
It's not entirely approptiate to do this since there is no process for allocating "shooting wounds" but rather "shooting hits". However, it requires no great imagination to resolve this: 7 wounds on a unit of Orcs results in 7 dead Orcs. On a unit of Ogres the result is 2 dead Ogres and 1 wound extra.
The underlying logic can probably be explained as "7 wounds" here meaning the same as "7 automatic hits that each causes 1 automatic wound".
Will Orc for food!
The two "screams have carried over from the old rules basically. They can "scream" while in combat or at a unit which is not in combat. They cannot "scream" at a engaged unit as it stated the exceptions granted to it while maintaining its shooting aspect but does not state it can shoot at an engaged unit. (think of this as the "don't want to hurt my own dudes rule" which shooting follows)
Former Old Guard Hobby Shop manager
Former Alcove Hobby Shop employee
PART TIME GENERALS club
How DARE YOU suggest that it is in any way a shooting attack!?
Will Orc for food!
With regards to how I want to think of the scream. Well I just read The Red Duke, where a banshee plays a key role in the book. Here her screams were mental and only heard by her intended victims, so I can easily think of her scream as something that could indeed be used in a very focused way without damaging the minds of her friendly skeletons.
On a serious note, the banshee scream and terror scream are not shooting attacks. The best arguement to try and claim they are is the "distrubted wounds as shooting" which is there to keep the dead random. We talked it over at the FLGS and determined it would work. Even then, they often didn't do enough to matter. The terror gheist may be different, but it rarely limits then screaming enough to matter.
Last edited by madival; 22-06-2012 at 14:09.
"Of course you fight fire with fire. You fight everything with fire!"
lesserofallevils.blogspot.com My warhammer gaming blog.
well im going to play it as they cant shoot into combats they arent a part of, which raises a question, are there any similar range attacks that can shoot into combats they arent a part of?
2.5k+ bretonnian army
1.5k Dark Elf army
Will Orc for food!
Iraf answered this question succinctly above. You can only target a unit in combat if you're in base contact with it.
But that aside...
Exploding Mortis Engine or Exploding Casket of Souls:
- Both cause hits or damage distributed as from shooting.
- Both are ranged.
- Both would affect units in close combat.
- They are not shooting attacks
Are they similar? Well thats a subjective thing, and you did not say what you meant here. They just came to my mind since you asked.
As I see it, unless the screamer is in combat, absolutely nothing prevents the screams from targeting into close combat, but of course it's cool to play it as you like.
The vampire player assumed that his Terrorgheist can scream into close combat that it isn't a part of, something that I disagreed with at first. But on my turn before this question arose I asked whether my Doom Wheel shoots at his Zombies (which were the nearest unit and engaged in close combat with my Rat Ogres) or at my Plague Monks (the nearest unit not engaged in combat). Of course the other player stated that the Doom Wheel cannot shoot in close combat it is not a part of.
I had to laugh when, just a turn later, his Terrorgheist wanted to do just the same. In my opinion the two units both use a special attack in the shooting phase and either they both can fire in ongoing close combats that they are not engaged in or they both can't.
Just a few minutes ago I asked a guy from GW's mail order about his opinion. Yeah, I know, those guys are hired to sell stuff and not to know the rules, but at least he looked everything up in the books. In his opinion, both the Terrorgheist and the Doom Wheel can fire into close combats (they are not a part of, bla bla, you know the sermon) and the Doom Wheel hits the closest unit as stated, so normally it wouldn't have to roll which side of combat it hits.
I for myself will from now on zzzapp into close combat and grant the Terrorgheist the same ability. Apart from all the discussing, the Terrorgeist is a lame duck in close combat and his big ability is the scream. For me it's okay that it can use it quite effectively, because once the enemy pins the big batthing it surely crumbles to dust.
Ah, well, just for laughs it didn't manage to scream my Hell Pit Abomination to death and my big guy promptly did to it what it does to just about everything it reaches. Die-die, dead-things!
Last edited by Morrdred; 04-07-2012 at 12:34.
Can I deny the regen save during the shooting phase for a unit of trolls by hitting them with a banshee scream from within a unit with the Banner of ethernal flame ?
Keep an eye on the VC FAQ for any clarification on whether the screams are shooting attacks or not: there are currently lots of different opinions on the matter.
Will Orc for food!
Yeah. I see that the VC FAQ is not on the website, so I'm sure we'll get something. Until then, I'd probably suggest not making a big deal one way or another as Gee-Dub has a 50/50 chance of ruling any given day.