That entry in the Ork FAQ is still there. In 6th edition.
A Sybarite is clearly supposed to have a Splinter Rifle to begin with, inferring from the options and from the list. Every model in that squad, by default, has a Splinter Rifle. So by creating a Sybarite that doesn't have one you are technically walking a fine line to begin with, as a Sybarite according to that entry starts with it. A long argument, I know, but no more shaky than any you've used
Actually itís much more shaky. The Sybarite starts with whatever equipment the Kabalite Warrior you are upgrading has. Unless youíve found something in the rules that states otherwise?
Your argument about the order of the lists is pointless, there are two separate lists with separate option sets.
There seems to be a big issue over the order of the list and Iím not really sure why. The only point Iíve made was that it is hardly jumping through hoops to simply read a list from top to bottom as we would in normal everyday use and pick options as we go, in the order they are given. But Iím not saying that we have to do it that way, only that we have to pick options that are legal.
If I used "it's the order I read it in" as an argument, I can take all kinds of bizarre options (especially the Terminator / Power Armor combo entries. That means that for 15 points pretty much any Terminator leader can pre-emptively make sure he is able to get an extra attack. Thanks for the game-wide buff!)
Could you give a specific example so that I can comment on it?
By your interpretation (that Warriors have the default wargear and Sybarites don't), a Sybarite starts unarmed. Amusing.
As I mentioned in my reply to your earlier point the Sybarite has the same wargear as the kabalite warrior that is being upgraded. Not sure how that is amusing, other than the somewhat bizarre interpretation youíve put on it.
I don't really even think this is that illegal, but if it's something so uncertain in the first place, why would you try it unless you are certain?
The thing is; I am certain. And Iím still waiting for someone to come up with anything to prove otherwise.
Zaljin is much more concise then I, but basically, yeah; that it breaks later Sybarite options makes it clear there is a problem. Does the Ork one do that?
Already responded to that. Zaljin may be concise but heís also wrong.
Alright, let's ignore the Sybarite =/= KW thing for a sec.
-Upgrade to Sybarite
-She no longer has a cannon, because her entry explicitly affirms she has a Rifle.
-She may then trade that rifle for a pistol and CCW.
Congrats, you just paid for an upgrade that got canceled out by a subsequent one.
Could you quote where the Dark Eldar Codex says what the Sybarite starting equipment is?