Necron airport lists. Regardless of whether you think they're a good choice or not, they're a pain with everything flying.
Now, initially, I thought they couldn't do this due to min 50% starting on the table. However, p.124 (note, this is all one paragraph):
Easy enough. Minimum 50% of units start on the table. So if I have 10 units, 5 can start in reserve.When deploying their armies, players can choose not to deploy up to half their units (rounding up) keeping them as Reserves to arrive later.
Ok, so stuff like Flyers and Drop Pods (and weirder things) are ignored. In the above example, if I had 10 unit consisting of 3 drop pods and 1 flyer, I would effectively only have 6 units, so 3 max in reserve.Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purpose of working out how many other units may do so.
Ok. In the above example, if I had placed 3 squads into my drop pods, they wouldn't count. So including the flyer too, I only have 3 units not counting, so only 1 can go in reserves. (minimum 50%).A unit and its Dedicated Transport are counted as a single unit for these purposes.
The question is then, do Independent Characters placed in a unit with its dedicated transport count as a single unit for minimum and maximum reserves? I'm going with no - its very specific about "a unit and its dedicated transport", with no mention of hangers on (and indeed, someone like vets in a vendetta would count as 2 units).Independent Characters are counted as a single unit regardless of whether they have joined another unit or not.
I'm still going with no, because of p.124 again:While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes...
That implies to me that you have to work out whether your IC is in Reserves first (obeying the maximum of reserves), and then join him to a unit.First, he must specify to the opponent if any of his Independent Characters left in reserves are joining a unit, in which case they will arrive together
Note, I think Necron Airports are silly things. Also, because of the (slightly odd) requirement of having models on the board at the end of any turn, it's probably not going to matter, as the Necron player will have 2+ units to hang back and not die.
But yeah, it's confusing me that some lists apparently have 2 characters and a Royal Court or 2, apparently embarking on Nightscythes.