here´s an updated and much longer list of questions my friends and I came across on our first handful of games on the NCE ruleset. As I wrote a similar thread some time before I thought it would be more adequate to combine both lists and edit this first one - so that in the end we have a list of questions and answers, that may help other players new to necromunda as well.
I will subsequently edit this first page with answers to the questions, when they come up. To visualize this I will mark questions with commonly agreed answers in green, and those with "debates pending" in red.
1.1. On page 109 is written:
What is meant with the sentence "Note flesh wounds areWOUNDING HIT AWARDS
Gang fighters earn +5 Experience points for inflicting
an unsaved wounding hit on an enemy model.
Fighters don't receive this award if the hit roll failed
or if the fighter already had zero Wounds. For
example, scattering blasts and shooting at down
models will not confer any awards.
Weapons that inflict more than 1 Damage will score
an award for each wound inflicted until the model is
reduced to zero Wounds. Note flesh wounds are
ignored when calculating this.
If a template weapon hits then all models wounded in
the blast confer awards.
In hand-to-hand combat each wound inflicted confers
an award until the model is reduced to zero Wounds.
Note flesh wounds are ignored when calculating this.
ignored when calculating this." (used twice)?
Arent flesh wounds rolled after the wounding rolls anyway, so that the weapon cannot reduce again the 1 wound received after a flesh wound is rolled anyway?
1.2. When you recruit a Hired Gun, do you choose its weapons after the advances rolls? Or the other way around?
1.3. When you create a Gang do you roll your territories before you buy the gangers and weapons? Or the other way around?
Answer (Ziom): You roll your territories after recruiting gangsters and buing them weapons. You must have a gang before you start rolling territories.
1.4. Do you count the number of models taken OOA by either side before or after step 1 of the post battle sequence? This is important for scenarios like Gang Fight, were you can take over a piece of territory from your enemy if you take enough models out of action.
So would this be possible if you took 2 models OOA and 1 down, then your enemy bottles out and unluckily rolls a 1-3 for its downed fighter, assuming that he didnt take any of your models OOA? Or cant you take over territory because you only took 2 models OOA during the game?
2.1. I dont really understand the section "Walls and barriers" on page 12. I this only meant for obstacles that you only want to leap over and not step on?
But what is for example with a block 1.5" high and 4"x4" wide and deep? Sounds like you could not apply this section here, because only a "barrier between 1" and 2" high, and no more than 1" wide" can be crossed by climbing over.
So you cannot get on top of it at all? But if you can climb over a wall as high you should be able to climb on it as well, shouldnt you?
2.2. Do you round up or down or mathematically when calculationg the strength of the hit when a model falls? I.e. does a fall of 3.4" / 3.5" count as S3 or S4?
2.3. Is a modell that fell automatically pinned?
Answer (Ziom): Yes. You're hit, so you're pinned
2.4. When you are using Vents to deploy models to the battlefield, what exactly is meant with the "top surface" of a building? All highest points on the building? Or all points where there is no kind of roof of the building on top? So if I had a building that looked like a pyramid of horizontal blocks (like stairs that go up on one side and down on the other), could I only deploy the fighters on the highest block? Or also on the lower ones?
3.1. On page 14 it says:
Does this -1 modificator (that is -2 because the -1 Overwatch modificator applies anyway) only apply if the charger charged the model on overwatch? And does it make a difference if the charger actually reaches its target or not?-1 CHARGING
The shooter is firing at a charging target whilst
Answer (Ziom): [See "Overwatch" p.21:] "There is a special -1 to hit modifier for shooting whilst on overwatch.A further -1 to hit modifier is also applied if the target is charging the MODEL on overwatch, representing the unnerving effect of the enemy’s rapid approach" So the -2 modifier applies only if the charger charged the model on overwatch [and would reach it].
3.2. This is not really a rules question, but still: Do you guys use the edge of the base as starting point for the 90° LOS arc, as depicted in the rulebook? Or the middle of the base? Or the head?
3.2.b) Something similar: Where do you start and stop exactly measuring distances when shooting? From the firers base to some body part of the target? Or to its base? And what if the model is lying or you shoot from a higher place?
Answer (Whitesilk):As for the measuring its always base to base...with a HEALTHY amount of common sense. You have to visualize that the base represents the area that the model covers, be it ducking/weaving/itching her butt/yelling for their heavy to strafe a area, or even standing on its head and the base is in the air; that base reflects the relative non-static movement the model is doing. So regardless of what your doing its always base to base. Yes you still need to meet the rules to "see" the model and apply any adjustments to the die roll.
Now to shoot at a model that is lying down due to going prone, being pinned/down, etc., you usually measure to the model...any part of the model. Charging a down model its known to have to simply come into contact to any part of the model. Otherwise you'll be seeing a lot of cheating S.o.B's positioning their models to have its base the furthest from any of your gang.
3.3. What happens to an exploded weapon after the game? We allways assumed, that it is destroyed, so practically deleted from the gangroster, but I cannot find any rule that indicates it. In the exploding weapons section it seems, that the only effect of an exploding weapon is that it may injure the user.
Answer: See page 21 "Repairs and Supplies": The weapon is usable the next game.
a) What happens to the user if his weapon explodes but fails to injure him? Is he pinned?
b) And whats with the user of a plasma gun that rolled a 2 on the "Gets hot" table? Is he pinned?
Answer (Ziom): Yes. You're hit, so you're pinned (in both situations)
3.5. Does a model need a friendly fighter in 2" distance to escape from pinning at the start of his turn or at the start of the players turn? So if there are 6 fighters in a row, only one at the end stands, the rest is pinned. Can they all escape pinning if you´re rolling lucky and in the right order? Or only the ones, that were in 2" from the standing model at the start of the players turn?
3.6. What exactly is necessary to unhide a player? Do you have to move a player so that he really sees 100% of the model? Or is it enough if he sees all but the feet or the like?
Answer (Ziom): You must see whole model not in cover. Not even feet or fingers behind a cover.
3.7. Can a model shoot sustained fire weapons normally when on overwatch? Or are there restrictions, e.g. only one shot? Thought I had read s.th. the like, but cannot find it in the rules.
Answer (Ziom): Yes
3.8. What happens if a blast weapon misses and the template scatters somewhere, where the firer has no LOS, e.g. around a corner or from ground level to a spot on a higher level that could not normally be seen?
Answer (Ziom): Damage is resolved as normal.
3.9. Can you ever shoot at the ground, with the intention of hitting an enemy model?
Answer (Catferret): Nope, no shooting at a point on the ground. It's always been this way for balance purposes. Only time you could target the ground was with smoke grenades.
4.1. Is it correct, that Hand Flamers may be used in CC before an ammo roll was failed, but are of no use in CC anymore once an ammo roll was failed? So A model with Hand Flamer and Knife may have +1 A for 2 CC Weapons, then it fires the Hand Flamer, failes the ammo roll and afterwards only has one CC Weapon left?
Answer (simonr1978): Yes, just like with any other pistol.
4.2. If a model has 2 CC weapons and an Autogun and it fails its Ammo roll with the Autogun - does it then get an extra Attack dice? Or does even the "empty" Autogun prevent it from getting that bonus?
Answer (Ziom): No, you still have the autogun. This applies also if the autogun explodes.
a) Lets say 2 of my models attack one enemy model and the only model that falls in this CC is one of mine. This model is not auto OOA, as there are still friendly models in CC. But what if next round my other model is downed as well? Do then both get auto OOA? I.e. is the first model still in CC?
b) And I guess, if I would have had a movement phase in between, I could have moved the first downed modell 2" away. But even than the other model could have followed up into contact with the downed model anyway.
Answer (Ziom): a - Yes, b - Yes
5.1. If a model fails a leadership test and runs for cover, but can only reach a position, where he is in cover but not totally out of sight, will he stay there and hide? The RAW sound as if he may only hide in subsequent movement phases, not in the first.
5.2 What happens if all models are down or OOA and you have to take a bottle roll? I imagine its failed automatically, but I cannot find any rule for that.
Answer (Ziom): You fail the Bottle test. Your LD is 0 in this moment.
6.1. Do the Skills Armourer and Weaponsmith stack? I.e. if a model has both, can it ignore the first failed ammo roll automatically and the second on a 4+?
The same question goes with Autorepairer and the like.
Answer (Catferret): Yes
6.2. Stealth - Evade: Model in short range in light cover --> -1 or -2 to hit modifier? RAW seems -1, but doesnt make much sense does it?
6.3. Techno - Weaponsmith: "..can ignore failed Ammo rolls and weapon explosions on a D6 roll of 4+.". If you failed an Ammo roll with a 1, rolled a 1-3 for Weaponsmith and your weapon would explode now, is there another chance, the skill may help you? Sounds like you could roll again on 4+ now to prevent the explosion.
Answer (Ziom): Yes. If your ammo roll is 1, you can make a roll on 4+. If this also fails, there's a chance your gun can explode. So if you fail your second ammo roll (to see if your gun explodes) you can prevent it by rolling 4+. You still fail the first ammo roll, though.
6.4. Techno - Medic: "This decision must be made straight after the injury roll..." I guess thats the roll on the serious injury table? So I cannot roll all serious injuries for all my OOA models first and decide afterwards? But why? Or is this meant in another way?
Answer (Ziom): You must decide to use Medic immediately after you roll for serious injury. If you roll another serious injury, you can't go back.
6.5. Shooting - Gunfighter/Rapid Fire: Can you fire on different targets?
Answer (Ziom): You can, but remember you must shoot at the closest target. You can shoot at a different target only if you put the first target out of action or down.
6.6. Techno - Weaponsmith(2): Does this skill stack with an Auto-repairer? Assuming the Auto-repairer checked the weapons between the games, any model ignores a failed Ammo roll on a 4+. Assuming this check was failed with a 1-3, can it still ignore the Ammo roll on a 4+, if it has Weaponsmith?
Answer (Ziom): It stacks with Auto-repairer. Count it as 2 saves against a failed Ammo roll.
6.7. What is the sense of the Resilence of Ratskin Scouts (page 105)? If they are hurt I can buy another for next game anyway cant I? They cant advance and get "better" than when I recruited them in the beginning to justify keep an injured Scout in your gang, or do they?
Answer (Catferret): Maybe you really like the skill combos he has, or don't want him to be captured by the opponent to stop them getting a free blindsnake pouch.