Hey all, a situation arose yesterday which left me somewhat confused.
A Fire Prism targets a Land Raider with the prism cannon thingy, which has a blast. The Land Raider had a single infantry model hiding behind it (entirely outside of LOS from the Prism). Naturally the Eldar player placed the blast so that it hit the Land Raider, and also covered the infantry model hiding behind it. He hits with the blast.
Here is my question, can the infantry model whom is entirely hidden from view from the firer be hit by the blast? That is, can it be killed by said blast?
In the rules for blasts it says that "Note that it is possible, and absolutely fine, for a shot to scatter beyond the weapon's maximum or minimum range and line of sight." and goes on "In these cases, hits are worked out as normal and can hit and wound units out of range and line of sight". And it then finishes with "Any unsaved wounds are then allocated on the unit as for a normal shooting attack."
So what about when the blast does not scatter? Can it still hit models outside of LOS?
And the rules for normal shooting attacks state in bold that "If there are no visible models in the target unit, all remaining wounds in the pool are lost and the shooting attack ends."
However, if the models outside of LOS are not the 'target unit', what happens then?
My guess it that the intent is that you only use the blast for determining number of hits, and disregard LOS and such things at that stage. However, after this is done, wounds are allocated as normal, meaning that even if you scored a bunch of hits on a unit, if you can't see anyone in that unit, all the wounds are lost, even if the unit hit was not the 'target unit'.
What say you?