A question that came up in a game involving Grey Knights.
Back in 5th edition, they added a blurb in the rulebook FAQ that stated that unless otherwise indicated in the entry of the vehicles in question (i.e IG Chimeras), you could not use fire points to draw LoS for special rules. With the current edition I can't seem to find anything regarding this in the rulebook, except to note that fire points are used for shooting attacks, which by the very wording would seem to exclude stuff like Torquemada's special rule (or indeed any item or rule that requires LoS but isn't shooting, or psychic powers that aren't shooting attacks). What do the rest of you think? Do the rules as written exclude such use, or are they too allowed?
The specific wording of the rules regarding fire points (emphasis as in the rulebook):
It then goes on to clarify use of template weapons, passengers firing at a different target to their vehicle, and how vehicle movement interacts with passenger firing.A Transport might have a number of Fire Points defined in its entry. A Fire Point is a hatch or gun slit from which one or more passengers inside the vehicle can fire shooting weapons (or use witchfire/psychic shooting attacks).
Unless specified differently in the vehicle's entry, a single passenger can fire out of each Fire Point and the other transported models cannot fire. Ranges and line of sight are measured from the Fire Point itself.
My reasoning against runs more or less like so:
-a fire point allows a certain number of passengers to shoot (or use psychic shooting attacks, such as witchfire powers)
-Torquemada's rule allows for a shooting attack to be made, but isn't a shooting attack in and of itself
-other special rules that require LoS cannot be used either, since they aren't shooting attacks themselves (unless otherwise stated in the special rule)
-the exception of course being vehicles that have special rules that allow for such (i.e IG chimeras)
So, in an IG chimera, Torq and his guys could blaze away, but not from a Rhino. The are pretty clear that only shooting attacks are allowed. Now, Torq's rule allows the unit he is with to make an out-of-sequence shooting attack, but that's only after his own LoS has been established.
The only counter-arguments I've seen either insist that Torq's rule is in fact a shooting attack (it isn't, it merely allows for one) or that the man is riding with the hatch open so he can see what's going on (which is just silly).