We seem to be circling around the same point over and over again jindianajonz, I absolutely understand what you are saying, I'm not sure you undersatnd what I am trying to say, in that by stating: "it is a model "with the same ability", and attacks are made simultaneously." you are in fact applying a part of the ASF rule which the ASL rule says you don't do. I guess look at it this way, if ASL and ASF are both present then imagine the words under the ASF heading have disappeared, there is a blank section where ASF used to be and under ASL all you see is the words "You now strike at initiative order." What do you now do if you come across someone with ASF? remember the words "If the model with [Always Strikes First] is fighting an enemy WITH the same ability, the Attacks are made simultaneously..." have disappeared.You glance down at page 66 and only see those words; "Strike at iniative order" under the heading where ASF and ASL used to be.
Although I agree its silly we keep doing this when obviously no one in their right mind will ever actually try to argue this and risk being punched in the belly by an angry dwarf. I guess we do it to enjoy the wonderful vagaries of English, oh why can't we all just cut to the chase and speak German.