Thread: Imperial guard - Weapons Pharos patterns - A 3D printing adventure

Imperial guard - Weapons Pharos patterns - A 3D printing adventure

Hi guys,

I am opening a new log about creating a new line of weapons for the imperial guard foot soldiers. I started learning 3d modelling a couple of weeks ago, while falling for the 3d technology. I have high hopes that this technology will soon help us customize our armies beyond imagination.

I previously made a very first attempt in my Elysian logs printing some home made grenade launchers and plasma guns with mixed results. I had use a basic plastic technology to print my models.

Learning from that experience I went and search for some material that will offer better details. I found something that look very promising: UV cured acrylic polymer. It's suppose to be able to print walls as fine as 0.3mm and details of 0.1mm (Yes! One tens of a millimeter!). They seems very well indicated for the amount of details miniatures need.

From that, I wanted to solve a problem that I had when assembling my Elysian soldiers. It seems that I never had the weapons set that I wanted. From a box of soldier I would have 10 lasguns, and a couple of meltas and grenade launchers but no plasma or flamer, from another set I could buy 5 shotguns and from yet another plasma and flamers. And even when buying all that I would be short of special weapons of some sort. it's obviously a commercial strategy and it left me doubtful.

So I started thinking about a modular weapons set that would include all imperial guard's regular and special weapons and since we are at it, with extra accessories to customize them. Here were my first drawings trying to find a cool new design and get the scale right using Elysian weapon's dimensions:

Here is the list of objects I want to create for the set of weapons (Green: done, Yellow: started):

• Common body
    • Lasgun nozzle
    • Lasgun eagle nozzle
    • Lasgun magazine
    • Shotgun nozzle