Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: My NEW Ulthwe Army Log

My NEW Ulthwe Army Log

Hi all.
    After the recent Warseer crash I decided to start again my plog dedicated to my beloved Ulthwe Eldar.

I would like to post all the old stuff in a better fashion, and some WIP as well. Right now I'm really intrigued by the last Eldar Codex and its new Warhost formations. Personally I was waiting that since the old Epic game: I always missed a real army formation for the Eldar in 40K. So for the beginning I'm painting a Guardian Battlehost (very proper for Ulthwe, I guess).

As appetizer, voila this Farseer, which is my new avatar. It's a very old conversion and I painted it some months ago. It's not really special, but it's my first try with light point technique. As usual comments are welcome.

Re: My NEW Ulthwe Army Log

Here my Guardians WIP.
    I'm doing the highlight job using Grey Fang, which I like because it's got a little blue tone. Working on black armours/hulls sometimes can be frustrating because you have to get a "negative" or "neon" effect in order to give definition on a completely black model. But it's Ultwhe, and I like it. [DISCLAIMER: as you see, english is not my native language. I struggle to make sentences with a sense, so be patient please ).

I will paint the heads separately, using an airbrush.

I painted separately these little bits as well. Tweezers helped a lot.

That gunner belongs to an already finished defender squad. That's how the final result should be.
    Last edited by Homeworld; 17-04-2016 at 20:41.

Looking very awesome. I like shadow grey/the fang for the black highlights too, adds a little colour and makes it look more three dimensional

Thank you.
    Agree. Long time ago I used a mix of dark blue, but it was too much (with yellow helms, a kind of dark Alaitoc ). Besides, highlighting grey fang with Fenrysian grey (+ a bit of white) is quick and gives a good result.

Next step.