Thread: Negative Keywords

Negative Keywords

After a very lengthy hiatus I'm back and I'm sorry if I will ask a homework question Feel free to move this thread if I'm not in the right place. I'm studying about PPC (pay per click) campaigns and I have encountered "negative keywords". To those who work in the digital marketing or to those who can relate, aside from ensuring that your ad doesn't show for a particular word search, what are the benefits of effectively using negative keywords?

Re: Negative Keywords

Not being associated with a certain subject or area can be desirable in some cases. There can be many examples where you plan your SEO key words to drive traffic to your site, but if a web site does not want traffic that results in unwanted queries, bad leads, etc., they could place negative key words. However, the trend in most circles is all traffic is good traffic and will place paths to their site through any relatable search, even wildcard searches. I am sure you have seen unrelatable websites come up with the exact term you typed into the search box, e.g. We have XXXX available for XXXX - click here! - all tricks of the trade.

In regards to PPC campaigns it is a totally different animal. An advertiser does not want to pay for a click to their site for a bad lead. If I have an embroidery business and I place the word 'patch - patches' in my meta-tag key word list, I may place 'concrete' as a negative key word. I do not want to pay for a click for someone looking for 'concrete patch'.
    Three Roads Dreamt - My novella collection is now available! Action Suspense, Fantasy and Sci-Fi

Chapter Master

Quote Originally Posted by MDSW View Post
    Not being associated with a certain subject or area can be desirable in some cases.