Thread: Loving the Alien

Commander

Loving the Alien

An infrequently updated thread to show my incidental Xeno's

First up an old Eldar painted many years ago...

Commander

Re: Loving the Alien

I've recently acquired these chaps (+small army) as a surprise for my son as he loves Necrons

I've started 'sprucing' them up a bit by putting a glow in their guts/ribs but was toying with trying out some 'crackle' paints on them, I have zero experience using these so I have two questions for the Warseer community - what brand should I use and what colour (thinking off-white but open to suggestions)?

some more close ups

Commander

One of the troops

I managed to pick up some Agrellan Earth technical paint today from the 'local' GW store so hopefully I can experiment with crackle paint effects at the weekend here's hoping it works

For crackle effects you might want to try Vallejo - they have crackle glaze/medium that you add to your paint. Haven't tried it myself but I do use their gloss medium and a few others to add to my paints. I usually just get mediums through eBay [I prefer buying paint in store if its a new colour so I can see what I'm getting!]. You could add some washes to give the models more depth - Nihilakh Oxide and Typhus Corrosion are both good for the weathered look.
    My random painting log- Dwarfs, Nids and VC - updated with Kharadrons! 01/05/17
    http://warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=142003

Commander

Quote Originally Posted by silverstu View Post
    For crackle effects you might want to try Vallejo - they have crackle glaze/medium that you add to your paint. Haven't tried it myself but I do use their gloss medium and a few others to add to my paints. I usually just get mediums through eBay [I prefer buying paint in store if its a new colour so I can see what I'm getting!]. You could add some washes to give the models more depth - Nihilakh Oxide and Typhus Corrosion are both good for the weathered look.