Thread: Which Mark for Minotaurs

Threaded View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Which Mark for Minotaurs

Hello;

for the purposes of the End Times I'm in the process of painting up a small Beastmen army. Small as it may be though, I plan on including the infamous "Minobus". The problem is, I have no prior experiences with Beastmen so even though I have read all their rules I don't really have a feel for what the army is going to behave like on tabletop.

I do have an general idea of what the Minobus is and how it is supposed to work. There are lots of tactica on the internet dedicated to Beastmen when you bother to search for it. However, none of these take the End Times and the Legions of Chaos into considerations. So I'm kind of at a loss as to how this would affect them. So maybe we can discuss the different marks here for a bit. Maybe someone has tried these and can share their tale of how they did.

KHORNE (Frenzy):

I think we can all agree that Khorne is completely wasted on Minotaurs except maybe for the small fringe case of Minotaurs who are not supported by Characters who offer them Frenzy. Even then they have an easy way to acquire multi-Frenzy themselves so even that is kind of a waste of points in my opinion.

TZEENTCH (6+ Ward):

Seems like an obvious defensive choice since everyone is complaining that Minotaurs are too squishy, and I would agree. However a 6+ Ward doesn't offer that much of a protection, and the points start adding up in bigger units. Statistically 1/6 of all wounds are discarded though so maybe a big block (I cuerrently have 9) will start soaking up some damage. It will also definitely help the Doombull and Gorebulls in the first rank by further augmenting their Ward Saves. Maybe this mark could be restricted to the Characters for point saving?

NURGLE (enemies are at -1 to hit in Close Combat):