McMullet
19-10-2007, 13:37
Greetings all.
I have recently started playing E:A and I'm really not getting part of the multiple combats rule. All it tells you with regards to resolving multiple combats (that I can find) is "A 2D6 roll is used to resolve a multiple combat".
Now, normally, one resolves a combat by rolling 2D6, picking the highest, adding some modifiers, then comparing the result to what your opponent got by the same means. Pretty straightforward.
How does a multiple combat differ from this? The rules, as written, seem to tell me that I should resolve the combat by rolling simply 2D6. This seems a rather incomplete way to resolve a combat.
It could also mean that it's resolved as normal, only you roll 2D6. Thing is, you normally roll 2D6. Conclusion: The combat is resolved as normal. But then, that wouldn't make sense, why would there be a special rule saying, "This particular type of combat is resolved in the same way as other combats!"?
Final solution: Unlike a normal combat (roll 2D6 and pick the highest), in a multiple combat you roll 2D6 and add them together, then carry on as normal. If this is the case, who rolls 2D6 and adds? The side with multiple formations, or both sides?
I graciously await your elucidation and thank you in advance for the enlightenment it may bring.
I have recently started playing E:A and I'm really not getting part of the multiple combats rule. All it tells you with regards to resolving multiple combats (that I can find) is "A 2D6 roll is used to resolve a multiple combat".
Now, normally, one resolves a combat by rolling 2D6, picking the highest, adding some modifiers, then comparing the result to what your opponent got by the same means. Pretty straightforward.
How does a multiple combat differ from this? The rules, as written, seem to tell me that I should resolve the combat by rolling simply 2D6. This seems a rather incomplete way to resolve a combat.
It could also mean that it's resolved as normal, only you roll 2D6. Thing is, you normally roll 2D6. Conclusion: The combat is resolved as normal. But then, that wouldn't make sense, why would there be a special rule saying, "This particular type of combat is resolved in the same way as other combats!"?
Final solution: Unlike a normal combat (roll 2D6 and pick the highest), in a multiple combat you roll 2D6 and add them together, then carry on as normal. If this is the case, who rolls 2D6 and adds? The side with multiple formations, or both sides?
I graciously await your elucidation and thank you in advance for the enlightenment it may bring.