PDA

View Full Version : New player trying to choose an army.

Thyrkill
18-04-2005, 22:23
Hi All,

I am very new to Warhammer (still reading the rulebook) but have played 40K for a few years now (Imperial Guard). I wanted to get some feedback in choosing my army. Currently, I am looking at Empire or Bretonnia. I really like both the models and their background, but I am unsure of how they play.

More than likely I will just be playing at my local store and with friends, but I didn't want to get into an army and find out that they are overpowered or "cheesy" (this stems from some experiences in 40K). Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt

taer
18-04-2005, 23:16
Empire can play a bit like 3rd edition old guard codex if you take an artillery train. Brettonia is fast, hard to kill, hard hitting, and dead meat when facing a cannon.

People will call you cheesy if you take the RAF or the artillery train, but don't listen to them. You are only cheesy if you take the RAF and the Green Knight, which I don't think can happen. Well, not at 2k, which is the usual game size.

Oh, RAF stands for Royal Air Force, and has a Lord on a pegasus and a bunch of Pegasi knights, and a BSB on pegasus with the Banner of the lady.

The Artillery train is an Empire army with maxed out artillery (Who'd of thought?) and lots of shooting troops.

Hope that helps

Gyulkus Chaos Saurus
18-04-2005, 23:22
well, brets are a massive Cav army, with the best flyers in the game, als long as u dont take too many pegasus knights. if you like a fast moving hard hitting army, go with them. empire, u can have almost any kind of army you want, all cav, shooting. i dont know much about them. if you want to know the strengths and weaknesses go here (http://us.games-workshop.com/games/warhammer/gettingstarted/choosing_army.htm)

daryl_ks
19-04-2005, 01:07
Here's the way I believe you should choose an army...

Firstly: