PDA

View Full Version : Advanced Heroquest & Heroquest

Irisado
11-04-2008, 20:53
Okay, I'm going to follow Wintermute's suggestion and start a thread about Advanced Heroquest and Heroquest here.

This will hopefully be the place for everyone who is a fan of these games to post their thoughts, opinions, experiences, and scenario/campaign ideas on these two games.

Whether you are a veteran player or games master, a total beginner, or just someone who has no idea what these games are about, but would like to find out more, you are most welcome.

I thought I'd start by explaining the fundamental difference between the two games.

Heroquest was fundamentally a board game, which the whole family could play, the rules were very simple, the quests were not particularly difficult (in the original game, and early supplements at least), and the monsters were very easy to defeat on the whole.

Combat was conducted using dice which used skulls, shields, and evil wizard player shields. Skulls inflicted damage on your opponent, while Shields protected you from harm if you were a hero, while the evil wizard player shields protected a monster from harm.

The problem was that heroes had multiple body points (wounds), while monsters (until the later expansions) all only had one! Worse still, the monsters only had a one in six chance of getting one of rolling an evil wizard player shield to survive!

The full list of campaign packs for Heroquest is:
Heroquest Questbook
Return of the Witch Lord
Kellar's Keep
Ogre Kingdoms
Wizards of Morcar

Elf Expansion* (USA)
Barbarian Expansion* (USA)
(*Thanks to Pookie and Gunmonkey for the information about these two expansion packs)

Various other items were also released, including a set for designing your own quests, a computer game, and a magazine. There may have been more, so if I have missed anything, please feel free to say so.

Obviously, Heroquest was never going to be challenging enough for a wargamer, so along came Advanced Heroquest.