PDA

View Full Version : 5th ed and Defensive Weapons

Ney
10-09-2008, 14:55
Hi I'm new to 40k so if I do not make sence please bear over with me.

Now when I was reading the rules on vehicles I noticed that defensive weapons is everything S4 or less. But if I recall correctly both IG and SM does not have any S4 or less options for hull/side mounted weapons as HeavyBolters and HeavyFlamers are both S5. Can it really be true that alot of tanks no longer can taky any kind of defensive weapons?

Brucopeloso
10-09-2008, 14:56
Yup, sucks doesn't it?

x-esiv-4c
10-09-2008, 15:04
Engage pillbox formation!

Lord Solar Plexus
10-09-2008, 15:11
Can it really be true that alot of tanks no longer can taky any kind of defensive weapons?

No. All Imperial tanks can take a heavy stubber or stormbolter.

However, the standard point defense weapons aren't defensive anymore. All our weapons are considered offensive now, if you will excuse the pun. :)

Since tanks aren't scoring and cannot usually hide behind a wood anymore, it is not such a big deal. You won't be hiding them during deployment and come out guns blazing and you don't need to move that much anyways when you take their range into account. Just fire the ordnance or move a transport flat out.

Vaktathi
10-09-2008, 15:25
Hi I'm new to 40k so if I do not make sence please bear over with me.

Now when I was reading the rules on vehicles I noticed that defensive weapons is everything S4 or less. But if I recall correctly both IG and SM does not have any S4 or less options for hull/side mounted weapons as HeavyBolters and HeavyFlamers are both S5. Can it really be true that alot of tanks no longer can taky any kind of defensive weapons?