PDA

View Full Version : I've converted to another army....

Shinguuji
09-11-2008, 11:15
Share stories of you converting to other armies here...

I just can't help but share this. I used to think I'd never ever play 'space elves'. I didn't like the models, didn't like the fluff, didn't like anything about them. My planned armies was blood angels(completed), tyranids(on the crux of completion) and guard(was waiting for new codex). Looks like I won't be playing guard anymore....

I started playing DoW a bit, and I realised that warp spiders are pretty cool. Then I started to find fire dragons really sweet, and now, I have my first bunch of warp spiders ready to paint after I dip my Tyranids.

The main turning point came was when I was fooling around with creating an army list. I tried creating something fast, tactical and yet competitive. I came up with this : 2Dire Advengers in serpents, Autarch with guardian jetbikes, striking scorpions, warp spiders, fire dragons, falcon. I fell in love with the list straight away. I've been wanting for something like this for a long time, except I didn't know I could do it with eldar.

I still don't really fancy a few of the eldar models, but all the ones in my army I find as really cool, I really love the warp spiders, fire dragons most of all.

Similarly, with the fluff, I don't really like some portions of it. I like the Saim-Hann portion of it though, they do strange and exotic rituals, and yet seem to have a carefree spirit, makes them seem really alien and different. I don't really like the ulthwe and biel-tan craftworlds, as they seem the focus on the eldar's sneering arrogance more than anything. I might be wrong, but that's the impression I get anyway.

A word on army stereotypes. I used to think all eldar are just a bunch of annoying, sneering elves who call humans mon-keigh(still find it very annoying), and came with compulsory minimum 3 falcons and harlequins, but I guess there are other dimensions to it.