PDA

View Full Version : Using Napoleonic Warfare Great Coats for IG Kosher?

Billpete002
09-02-2009, 16:45
So, with all the rumors flooding The Dude's IG rumor boards I am tempted to build up a new IG army (as I've sold my German & Russian influenced armies).

One thing I have noticed is GW hates gamers with proxy models in their store (pretty understandable and frankly this isn't a thread whining about why).

I could never take my germans into GW because they were not GW models. The Russians were Valhallans (which I love) and did quite a few games with them, but they are geared to the old rules and are metal (thus weigh a ton and a half) and are prone to chipping/wear and tear requiring many hours of touch up work...

So I made an executive decision to switch to 100% (or darn close) plastic. What I wanted to know -as I have no experience in this matter and why I told you about my previous armies- is would a mix be allowed? I personally can't stand Cadians or Catachans. I used to have DKoK but they are too much $$ (along with anything else FW). So my question to you is:

Could I play at a GW using bits and pieces of Napoleonic War models (Perry Brothers for instance) I would remove the heads/arms/packs and use GW parts so really only the legs/chest are from another producer. I want great coat guard, but I don't feel like waiting an eternity and a half for them to be released (if at all!).

And yes GW stores can very from place to place - so I would like to know from a few different people (and even GW employees) if this is kosher? I am using lasguns/plasma guns etc. the tanks are GW, the heads/arms/backpacks are GW - how much plastic does it really need to have to be considered usable?

FYI - Hell if I care about tournaments. Just one off games at GW.

Your thoughts?

Grubnar
09-02-2009, 16:54