View Full Version : Black Templar broken rule, Need Clarification

07-04-2009, 10:21
So while looking at a new BT army, I noticed the vow "uphold the honour of the emperor" It states that "no unit" may gain a cover save.

Does this affect everyone i.e enemies? Because that would be uber!

07-04-2009, 10:23
no just you

07-04-2009, 10:25
It means your Templars, unless the enemy is also Templars and take the same vow :)

07-04-2009, 11:10
With the new prefered enemy and with the master of sanctity does that mean you can re roll your re rolls?
Because with lightning claws, that makes for a mean squad.

07-04-2009, 11:12
You can never re-roll a re-roll you have to take the second roll no matter the result.

07-04-2009, 11:37
Just wondering : can you reroll a successful throw ? (for exemple with rending weapons)

07-04-2009, 11:47
you can re-roll a successful result sometimes - it depends on the exact wording of the particular rule involved

07-04-2009, 11:53
Rules that let you re-roll successful rolls tend to state it explicilty. Usually the phrasing is like:

'You may re-roll one failed roll to hit' (which I believe is the master-crafted description, so you can only do failed rolls).
'You may re-roll any roll, including successful rolls...'

There's also the third category that forces you to re-roll ALL the dice, rather than discriminate between them, but I can't remember when I last saw it used.

07-04-2009, 16:12
Sergeant Lysanders 'Bolter Drill' from the 3rd ed Marine 'dex is the only time I can recall seeing it.