PDA

View Full Version : Seeking advice on magic+infantry heavy WoC

Sevitan
09-04-2009, 20:35
Hey guys. Keep in mind I'm relatively new to warhammer. I am reading/powering through the WoC tactica, but it's taking forever and I'm only on page 25 or so -_- So I'm hoping I can get some advice here from people with more experience then me with the new army book.

I want to start a Warriors of Chaos army, primarily because I got my hands on the old box set army from last edition. As such, I want to use most of the stuff from it, on the other hand, that's not a problem since the contents mesh well with what kind of an army I want.

My first idea was a Khorne themed army. But the fighty heroes are somewhat overpriced it seems. And the mark of Khorne lost it's anti-magic capability. So Tzeentch, my other chaos passion it is. I'm aiming for 2000 and 2250.

I wanted a strong magic phase, so I figured I'll start of with a Lvl 4 Sorcerer Lord of Tzeentch. Problem is, I'm not really sure what to equip him with. Along with him, I figured I'd need at least 2 more level 2 sorcerers to get stuff done in the magic phase. Again, not sure how to equip them or what lores to go for. I hear Nurgle is popular, but in all honesty I hate everything nurgle related fluff wise. So I'd prefer to stick with Tzeentch or with the fire or death lores. In any case, I don't see all this costing less than 700, which seems steep for characters.

For the army, I was thinking 2 blocks of 2x6 warriors with shields and halberds and 2 blocks of either 20 or 24 marauders. I'm not sure what command options are worth it though. Full command on everything is my first impulse, but perhaps there is a way to save points here.

Although I had a mostly based infantry army in mind, it would be stupid not to take a unit of Knights and Horsemen, and probably at least 2 units of warhounds to screen stuff.