PDA

View Full Version : Good choice for MSU? (another army choice help thread)

Bento
20-04-2009, 07:37
Hi there. This is another one of those help me pick an army posts. Before I actually talk about the armies I like, I might as well point out the things I'm concerned/looking for.

1. After reading WotR and playing other massed battle games, I'm not after a horde army, because the idea of painting up a whole bunch of models where every five of them basically acts as a marker for +1 CR doesn't appeal.

2. I'm a mediocre painter at best with low enough motivation to paint, so things with robes and gemstones that lend themselves to blending aren't going to be a very good choice for me.

3. Being the case that I'm not a fan of painting, but have made a vow that I'm not going to play a game unless I've made some progress painting, I'd like to go for something that's lower on the model count side of things.

4. I actually like 'good' or at least neutral sorts of civilizations. Or ones I can understand or empathise with to some extent. Granted, it'd be pretty boring if Warhammer were just good vs. evil (doing that with WotR anyway), but I like getting into my background and Dark Elves (which fit my other criteria) just don't do it for me.

I've got a few armies in mind, and I've listed spome things I like and don't like.

1. Lizardmen. Dinosaurs are awesome. Seems like a list that needs a fair number of metal figs to do well though. Metal figs that are not only pricey, but large/fiddly, and thus need more care in handling and transport. That said, I really do like the Razordon models, and other than Terradons and Kroxigors everything else I'd want is in plastic. Do Saurus lend themselves to MSU play though? They certainly seem too pricey to just sit around contributing 1/5th of a rank bonus.