PDA

View Full Version : Mapping new missions



IAMNOTHERE
18-08-2009, 08:35
One of the best things about SH was the corridors and how you fit them together to create your own missions.

I'm doing a visio program so I can just drag and drop these tiles into place and print out a new mission layout once the game is released. I think this willl be a great tool for creating your own missions with out drawing it out and finding you only had 7 corners not the 8 you actually need or some such like.

But I'm thinking it's probably not the best way to create the programme, anyone got a better idea what could be used?

CRasterImage
21-08-2009, 19:10
(I sent this as a message the other day.
But I am reposting it here for others)

No need to make a visio file.
There is a program just for this called Tilesystem.

http://members.cox.net/shawnriordan/tilesystem.htm

It allows you to make maps and export them out to a JPEG file. It can use any tileset people invent. If you download the Doom tileset, you can get an idea of what it is capable of.

For a simplistic Space Hulk tileset, download this and unzip into the tilesystem folder:
http://members.cox.net/shawnriordan2...ssionTiles.zip

When the new Space Hulk arrives, I intend to make a tileset from it.

IAMNOTHERE
21-08-2009, 20:33
I've tried to create my own tileset with this but for some reason I can't get it to work for me :( I decided not to use the doom tiles.

Any idea what I could be doing wrong?

CRasterImage
21-08-2009, 21:19
Email the guy listed on that web page.
Describe what you are trying to do.

Lord_Squinty
24-08-2009, 13:13
This months WD says that GW will have a PDF mission generator online soon.

Znail
24-08-2009, 18:06
A possitive sideeffect of the limited edition and concentration of everyone getting the game at the same time is that there is alot of people who wants and can share custom made maps.