PDA

View Full Version : Rules quesionsdly



nedius
25-08-2009, 22:48
I had the chance to look through the rule book this eve.

Two situations seemed to be unclear.

Firstly, line of sight - can it be drawn diagonally between obsticles? If a teminator had a wall in it's front square, a terminator in the side square, would it have LoS to the front diagonal? This came up when two terminaters were standing facing a door side by side in the squares imidiately infront of the door.

What would you say?

Secondly, the broodlord and 'hard to kill', could a broodlord be killed if two termintors on overwatch, who had the broodlord in a crossfire, both got 1 wounding shot each?

Anyone else come across any unclear rules, or got an opinion on these?

RFT
26-08-2009, 06:52
first example - no. line of sight cannot be drawn through a blocked square or "between" squares.

second example - i'm not sure as I haven't seen the 3rd ed rulebook, but from what I've read it takes two hits from a single attack, and the two "simultaneous" overwatch shots wouldn't count as a single attack.

Znail
26-08-2009, 10:48
In 2nd edition so couldnt you fire more then one overwatch at the same time either, not sure how it is in 3rd.

Patriarch
26-08-2009, 18:40
In 2nd edition so couldnt you fire more then one overwatch at the same time either, not sure how it is in 3rd.
Yes, every overwatching terminator that can see a stealer perform an action gets to shoot at it.

Say there are three marines in a room facing outward. All 3 are on overwatch. A stealer moves to the square outside the room, where all three marines can see it.

The marine player gets 3 overwatch shots at the stealer; so he rolls a pair of dice for each of the marines (not 6 dice together!). If any of the pairs comes up with a 6, the stealer is dead. If any of the pairs come up with a double, that marine's bolter has jammed.

If we assume the first marine rolls a 5 and 3, he misses. The second marine rolls a 1 and a 6; the stealer is dead. The 3rd marine still has to roll (even though the stealer is dead - all these shots are simultaneous), getting a double 3; his bolter jams.

For the Patriarch/Broodlord, these three sets of shots would not count as a "single attack". You would need a double 6 from one of the pairs of dice to kill it (1/36 chance per shot).
It gets slightly easier if you get to sustain (each pair of dice needs two 5s and/or 6s - 1/9 chance per shot).

CRasterImage
26-08-2009, 18:44
gets to shoot at it.

Should read "MUST shoot at it".

If the first overwatch termie kills the target, the second and third still have to shoot as well. Risking a chance of jam or explode.

Brother.Gabriel
26-08-2009, 19:20
Firstly, line of sight - can it be drawn diagonally between obsticles? If a teminator had a wall in it's front square, a terminator in the side square, would it have LoS to the front diagonal? This came up when two terminaters were standing facing a door side by side in the squares imidiately infront of the door.

The diagram in the rule book is quite clear about line of sight. A terminator can see down 90 degree's like fantasy. Or put into the squares (as mentioned in the rules) that means a Terminator can see, from its, square 3, then 5, then 7, then 9 and so on. So in you exmaple yes the they can




Secondly, the broodlord and 'hard to kill', could a broodlord be killed if two termintors on overwatch, who had the broodlord in a crossfire, both got 1 wounding shot each?


No - as the rules state that a double must be rolled from a single action of shooting. In the case where two Overwatching Termi's both woud have to shoot at the target, even if the first killed it.

carlisimo
27-08-2009, 04:52
Firstly, line of sight - can it be drawn diagonally between obsticles? If a teminator had a wall in it's front square, a terminator in the side square, would it have LoS to the front diagonal? This came up when two terminaters were standing facing a door side by side in the squares imidiately infront of the door.

What would you say?

If LoS goes between two squares, at least one of those squares has to be empty, otherwise you can't shoot.

Mojaco
28-08-2009, 09:25
oops, then I cheated yesterday. O well, it wasn't a critical shot anyway.