View Full Version : can characters join units with different base sizes?

Grom Wronghand
19-09-2009, 09:43
By which I mean, for example, can Skrag the Slaughterer join a unit of bulls? Or King Thorgrim joinin a unit of warriors? If so, how do you rank them?

19-09-2009, 09:48
Yes, the character is placed in the front rank and takes up as much space as his base does.

S = Soldier
C = Character


would become


if joined be a character with, for example, a 40mm base. And yes, the character counts as two guys in each of the two ranks he's in for rankcounting purposes. You still use his US for counting outnumbering etc.

A character with a tiny base can still join a unit with larger bases even if the front rank will look wierd.

19-09-2009, 09:52
Yes: se eBRB FAQ part 2.

Essentially you need to determine how many models it displaces, and fudge it so it doesn't end up taking up too many.

For example a 25x50mm cav base in a unit of 20x20mm OR 25x25mm models should take up 2 spaces: 1 in the first rnak and 1 in the second rank, if any.

Grom Wronghand
19-09-2009, 18:18
Thanks a lot. Its nice to see a simple answer around here for a change!

23-09-2009, 16:34
another side question if this is the same answer. im using prince tyrion and hes on a 50mm monster base in a unit that has 20mm bases is it okay to put him on a 40mm base or what because the unit would just look weird.

23-09-2009, 17:47
You should not ever change base sizes - just leave it, the unit looks weird. The alt is to put him on the edge of the unit, so the disparity doesnt mess the ranks up too much (still count as 2x2 models)

24-09-2009, 09:18
and please go with these answers, as they are correct. there are enough other threads with lenghty discussions about the whole fudge thingy. :)

26-09-2009, 10:40
Here is a follow up question, lets say that you place a skink chief in a unit of saurus warriors, does this mean that the frontage becomes thinner than the line behind it? Does this also count versus enemy maximising? it would look sumthin like folloing.


Note the small difference, in game this would make for 5 mm less than with only sauruses.

26-09-2009, 10:50
Yes, it works exac tly like that: what part of "fudge it", as per the FAQ, are people not getting? ;)

Your frontage is the actual frontage you present ot the enemy. It will hardly ever make a dfifference...