PDA

View Full Version : Curious question about WoTR

ranlep
22-10-2009, 22:27
hey guys,

Sorry if this seems like an odd question.

I'm rather new to WoTR and do not have the rulebook yet.

I was wondering, is it possible to "get by" using Army Builder and the Quick reference sheets found online?

I ask because I may not have the opportunity to get a rulebook for a little while but wanted to see if it's possible to get some games in.

thanks for any insight on the matter

ranlep

Nu Fenix
23-10-2009, 00:39
I haven't seen the Army Builder files, and so can't comment on their accuracy, but between them and the quick reference sheets on GW's website, you may be able to wing it.

It really comes down to any special rules not being explained in AB for anything specific, and as such feeling left out.

The best I can say is try it, and see how you go. Just get the book at some point, so GW see how much people want to play it :)

Enfid
23-10-2009, 01:43
The reference sheets are enough to get by in the short term, but after understanding the basic rules you'll want to start using special rules and heroes. Normal captains. I like reserving epic heroes for larger games.

I haven't seen any army builder yet, so I can't comment.

HsojVvad
23-10-2009, 03:18
What do you want to play? Evil or Good? Who do you want to play as?

Just ask here for what to make in an army. How many points to do you think you will play? Say a 750 points, to start with. Just tell the community here, what you want

Good or Evil?
Shooty, Close combat, mixture play style?
What faction you like the best? Elves? Gondor? Isengard? Rohan? Mordor etc etc.
Do you like Monstours creatures?
What is your money limit you can spend?
Do you want plastics or metals?

Answer these and I bet you, you will get people to tell you get so many of these units or those units, and give the model names to get and use.

Good luck.

Nu Fenix
23-10-2009, 20:32
Plus theres been many army lists which should help you plan things out.