PDA

View Full Version : Need help. *Entering warhammer world*

x-esiv-4c
18-05-2005, 18:17
Hi,
For the longest time i've been playing 40k, and after playing it for so many years you get a bit tired. I'm thinking about starting / getting into warhammer. Knowning nothing about it, I feel like i'm walking into a soviet minefield. I have tons of questions.
I guess I should start by asking what similarities can be derived between the two systems and what are the main differences. In 40k, taking 3 wraithlords would be considered cheesy. Does similar cheese lie in warhammer fantasy? In 40k battles can be won easily without having to engage your enemy in close-combat. I understand that ranged weapons are somewhat limited in fantasy but can an Empire player just hang-back and use hand-gunners / cannons / steam-tanks to claim victory?

What are the arch-types of the different armies? For example: Space-Marines are good all-rounders, Tau have excellent ranged firepower and Tyranids dominate in CC. What fantasy army would be considered as the "All-rounded" etc etc.

Are there things to watch out for? In 40k there is a thing called "Min-maxing" where small squads are used instead of larger ones to be able to pack in more heavy-weapons.

Any input or answering of questions would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks.

Selsaral
18-05-2005, 19:54
Hi,
For the longest time i've been playing 40k, and after playing it for so many years you get a bit tired. I'm thinking about starting / getting into warhammer. Knowning nothing about it, I feel like i'm walking into a soviet minefield. I have tons of questions.
I guess I should start by asking what similarities can be derived between the two systems and what are the main differences. In 40k, taking 3 wraithlords would be considered cheesy. Does similar cheese lie in warhammer fantasy?