PDA

View Full Version : Now a good time to start Empire?

Kingbreaker
17-01-2010, 20:04
So I am about 90% decided to cash in my collection of MTG cards and use that to seed a WFB army. I am torn between Brets and Empire on theme (I have an MA degree in medieval history).

I am leaning Empire because I *gather* that Empire is more versatile than Brets. Also, I tend to favor defensive tactics in most battlefield games (digital and tabletop.)

Themewise, I am thinking a fairly shooty army from Ostland (simply for the color scheme) the bulk will be Xbow or guns + spears, backed up by a few cannon.

With 8th edition looming, does it make sense to postpone this until the summer or is it a good idea to paint up some state troops on the theory that they will almost certainly be usable?

xragg
17-01-2010, 20:16
Empire has been the most balanced army in terms of their troop options for the entire 15+ yrs I have been playing. While certain units may shine better then others depending on the ruleset and other army builds popular at the time, empire has always been competitive. State troops should be a safe bet to useful; detachment rules are that solid.

gorenut
17-01-2010, 20:43
Now is as fine a time as any other to start Empire. They've always been pretty balanced and endured each new rules set well. The only thing that you might want to hold off on purchasing are Knights. There's constant rumors looming about Empire getting new Knights soon.

Urgat
17-01-2010, 20:54
With 8th edition looming, does it make sense to postpone this until the summer or is it a good idea to paint up some state troops on the theory that they will almost certainly be usable?

The chances that state troops are removed in the next armybook are, well, extremely thin, I'd say.

Condottiere
17-01-2010, 21:02
I doubt that this army has been earmarked for any major changes, and you can always make incremental investments to build it up over the next six months.

Griefbringer
17-01-2010, 22:19