PDA

View Full Version : Your vintage armies

enyoss
07-02-2010, 18:17
Hi all,

I've been working on my beloved High Elf army since 1996, and have always had a soft spot for the old 4th edition models which were the established range back then. Anyway, I've recently got my hands on one of the last models I need to get every model in the range, the champion on the top left here http://www.solegends.com/citcat9x3/c92379hebthrower-03.htm.

I've found that without realizing it, I've become a collector, trying to recreate the Warhammer environment that I loved so much and which got me into this hobby back in the early 90's. To be fair, most of my army was bought when the models were on the shelves, it's only recently that I've been trying to tie up loose ends using Ebay, but you get what I mean?

And this has got me thinking... are there any other players out there who have a cherished army that has accompanied them from childhood, or who are so enamoured with an old model range that they're now going back and collecting the stuff they wish they'd bought when they'd had the chance?

Clearly, I can imagine some model ranges have outlasted others. Overall, I think all 4th edition armies have aged very well with the exception of Wood Elves and Dark Elves (I think the High Elves still look especially good... my humble opinion of course :D). If you go back a bit further, the Empire, Bretonnia, Dwarf and in parts Chaos ranges of 3rd edition are still great sculpts in my eyes, apart from a slight shift in style for the Dwarfs.

So, any other vintage army lovers out there?

Cheers,

enyoss

P.S. If anyone has the 4th edition High Elf Pegasus rider or Marauder Dragonlord, and is looking to sell, please get in touch! :)

EDIT: Feel free to post pictures! I'd especially love to see any 3rd edition Bretonnian or Dwarf armies, although I doubt there are many out there.

Commodus Leitdorf
07-02-2010, 18:33