PDA

View Full Version : CHOAS: Space marines

Chaos Abyss
10-02-2010, 20:13
Hello I'm currently making a CSM army first squad of troops almost done and Im curious as to whether or not hero and tanks and such actually come in handy as i say im only a beginner and i dont want to buy crap i wont use btw if it helps i love tactics as long as its not a rush tactic

Ryan814
10-02-2010, 20:24
Well the HQ choice is mandatory in a standard army list a lot of people I see use a Daemon Prince or Sorcerer instead of a Lord. For CSM the tanks can help a lot but your troops are certainly good enough that I wouldn't call them "mandatory" (except the Rhino, I would call those mandatory for pretty much every squad). As your just starting I would say go for troops and Rhinos before you want to start with any thing else.

What I find helps best is to play a couple games with your starter force and as you play you will encounter situations where you may realize a certain unit would have helped your army a lot.

Chaos Abyss
10-02-2010, 20:32
Well the HQ choice is mandatory in a standard army list a lot of people I see use a Daemon Prince or Sorcerer instead of a Lord. For CSM the tanks can help a lot but your troops are certainly good enough that I wouldn't call them "mandatory" (except the Rhino, I would call those mandatory for pretty much every squad). As your just starting I would say go for troops and Rhinos before you want to start with any thing else.

What I find helps best is to play a couple games with your starter force and as you play you will encounter situations where you may realize a certain unit would have helped your army a lot.
Thanks I didnt know HQ were mandatory could I use Cypher the fallen as a HQ? And whats a good Size squad? i have just been tagging weapons onto my troops can that adversely effect my points per unit?

DoomedFuture
10-02-2010, 20:47
I recommend obliterators.

Also, you really need the codex.

Chaos Abyss
10-02-2010, 20:49