PDA

View Full Version : allies!!!!!



spitfire6x
16-02-2010, 16:14
hi everyone

i have ultramarines and guard and i have herd people using allies,

how does this work, i can find anything rules wise

thanks for your time

rob

Chem-Dog
16-02-2010, 16:17
The two Inquisition codexes can be used as Allies to pretty much most Imperial armies, or Marines can be used as Allies for the two Inquisition Armies. The rules for what can be included either way round are in those Codexes.

To be honest, don't bother, the rules for the Inquisition are horribly out of date and cause more confusion than is entirely necessary.

EDIT+
Of course there's Apocalypse, which is a different kettle of fish.

Illiterate Scribe
16-02-2010, 16:18
OK, there are a couple of things to discuss here.

You can, of course, play as guard alongside another player with ultramarines, in a doubles game. I suspect this isn't what you mean though.

Basically, Witch Hunters and Daemonhunters can have Space Marines or Imperial Guard 'allied' to them - they can take a certain number of units from the other codex.

Similarly, Space Marine and Guard armies can take a certain number of units from the Witch Hunters and Daemonhunters codices.

Without your opponents permission, though, you can't include guard and marines in the same army.

Brother Loki
16-02-2010, 16:28
With your opponent's permission however, you can do what you like.

Before Apocalypse came along, the most common way of doing this was to play with multiple detachments (i.e. multiple Force Org charts). The Marines would be one detachment, and the Guard another. Each must conform to its own separate FOC, so you need minimum of 1HQ and 2 Troops for marines, and 1HQ and 2 Troops for the Guard. Obviously this was most commonly done in larger games, and has now largely been replaced by Apocalypse, but there's nothing inherently wrong with it if your opponent agrees.

aeoglas
16-02-2010, 16:29
Sorry, but this should be moved to the rules section.

spitfire6x
16-02-2010, 19:17
well you can move it if you like however i was not asking a particular rule just a general question

thanks all for your replies great help!!!!

Bunnahabhain
16-02-2010, 22:31
The two Inquisition codexes can be used as Allies to pretty much most Imperial armies, or Marines can be used as Allies for the two Inquisition Armies. The rules for what can be included either way round are in those Codexes.

To be honest, don't bother, the rules for the Inquisition are horribly out of date and cause more confusion than is entirely necessary.

EDIT+
Of course there's Apocalypse, which is a different kettle of fish.


THIS

Unless you're doing it for theme, or are using a very small number of specialised tricks, as 90% of both the Inq books are showing their age badly, or were dire to begin with...

Inquisition allies are the only way Guard can get psychic hoods, for example , and there are other very useful things you can do...

carldooley
16-02-2010, 22:36
and there are other very useful things you can do...

like GKs (my favorite ally)
or mystical Inquisitors in LRs (the only way to field Land Raiders in a Guard Army)
or GK Terminators when you run a bunch of Leman Russes.

sigur
17-02-2010, 02:12
...
i have ultramarines and guard and i have herd people using allies,
...

First: Stop herding people. This is not looked upon kindly by any authority I'm aware of.

Apart from that, what the others said. You can have Apocalypse or play special scenarios with your friends in which UM and your IG join forces but it needs planning and your opponent's permission.

@carldooley: GK cost much are are killed quickly. Especially if you field Russes, why spend all the rest of your points on fancy GK instead of troops? Also, why would you want a Land Raider in your IG army?

KingNova3000
17-02-2010, 02:17
Of course you take another army if you're playing games larger then 2500pts. Games larger then that allows you to take two force organisation charts, meaning for example you could take one 2500pts Ultramarine force with an allied 1000pt guard force (for a 3500point non-apocalypse game).

DemonMonkey
17-02-2010, 02:31
@carldooley: GK cost much are are killed quickly. Especially if you field Russes, why spend all the rest of your points on fancy GK instead of troops? Also, why would you want a Land Raider in your IG army?

because a GM with retinue in a a landraider has a 20 inch effective charge range & the passengers will absolutley own its target? & the landraider stops them from being killed? :)

Cluveru
17-02-2010, 07:09
Except, that only an inquisitor can take a Land Raider as dedicated transport. And the codex is more strict concerning dedicated transports. I don't know what armies you play, but my opponents would not be scared of a melee inquisitor with three powerfist servitors charging their Orks/CSMs/Space wolves.

That said I do occasionally use an inquisitor and/or Grey Knights in my IG force. Keeping the GKs in reserve makes a nice counter-charge unit for those of us who resents horses in the grimdark future.

ehlijen
17-02-2010, 07:34
Of course you take another army if you're playing games larger then 2500pts. Games larger then that allows you to take two force organisation charts, meaning for example you could take one 2500pts Ultramarine force with an allied 1000pt guard force (for a 3500point non-apocalypse game).

While that is probably general practice, it is not a general rule. There is a suggestion in the rulebook that such things should be considered once the FO chart becomes too restrictive, it is by no means a clear or even explicit rule.

Also, to add to Cluveru's point: It's technically the henchmen retinue that can take the dedicated LR, not he inquisitor himself. This means it is not even possible to buy an inquisitor, give him a land raider and then have another unit join him inside.

folnjir
18-02-2010, 05:21
If you play with a group of friends talk it over with them. Come up with an allies system that you guys think is fair and go from there. Discuss afterwards and make changes if needs be.


Harder if you are looking for pick up games at a shop or club though.

waiyuren
18-02-2010, 06:37
I can't remember exactly, but once upon a time, it was possible to take up to 25% of your total points as allies. I think that might have been Warhammer Fantasy though...

Im pretty sure they had to be of similar alignment (Good or Evil) as well. ^^^ As folnjir says, this would be for games vs friends or pick-up games where you say pretty please first. :)

chromedog
18-02-2010, 06:47
2nd edition 40k had something like that too.