PDA

View Full Version : Reserve Board Edge



Vedar
23-02-2010, 16:48
I'm curious how most people play this. I'm not asking who is wrong or right, just how you play it with your group.

commander of the marines
23-02-2010, 17:01
rulebook states clearly that reinforcements enter the board at your long table edge. except if they outflank, deep strike so

entire 6' of your long table edge

incarna
23-02-2010, 17:08
rulebook states clearly that reinforcements enter the board at your long table edge. except if they outflank, deep strike so

entire 6' of your long table edge

100% correct. it's the entire long board edge.

marv335
23-02-2010, 17:12
entire long board edge, any other interpretation is not supported by the rules

Lord Damocles
23-02-2010, 17:12
I play it the correct way.

...

Oddly enough.

kendaop
23-02-2010, 18:31
Hmm...I never noticed that. We've always played it that reserves enter from the edges of your deployment zone, so, 3' along the long edge and 2' along the short edge. I guess I've been doing it wrong, not for my lack of understanding, but for lack of reading the rules thoroughly.

Kurisu313
23-02-2010, 18:36
I don't understand why this question even exists. Games workshop in a rare display of insight saw the potential for confusion and explicitly stated that it was the full board edge within the deployment rules.

If you haven't read it like Kendaop, fair enough, but if you read it, how can you possibly get it wrong?

kendaop
23-02-2010, 18:38
I don't understand why this question even exists. Games workshop in a rare display of insight saw the potential for confusion and explicitly stated that it was the full board edge within the deployment rules.

If you haven't read it like Kendaop, fair enough, but if you read it, how can you possibly get it wrong?

More like...."skimmed over it quickly and never thought of it again".

Kurisu313
23-02-2010, 18:43
More like...."skimmed over it quickly and never thought of it again".

Yes, sorry, I was imprecise in my wording.

Vedar
23-02-2010, 19:12
If you are wondering I started playing against a lot of people who insisted that you could only deploy reserves from the deployment zone and wondered how many people were playing this way. As stated above it seems some people are playing this way.

senorcardgage
23-02-2010, 22:28
That's so wierd that ppl would play with anything other than your long board edge...

sigur
23-02-2010, 22:33
If you are wondering I started playing against a lot of people who insisted that you could only deploy reserves from the deployment zone and wondered how many people were playing this way. As stated above it seems some people are playing this way.


You just should have asked in the 40k rules forums then. :)

senorcardgage
23-02-2010, 22:36
I actually really like how they now say that it's your board edge so people don't deploy along the sides anymore.

IAMNOTHERE
23-02-2010, 22:47
4th ed you could deploy from the sides of your deployment zone. Vets can get confused too.

senorcardgage
23-02-2010, 22:55
Although that's technically correct I don't believe that was the intention.

Grax
24-02-2010, 16:43
Yes, the reserve rules are unaffected by the deployment type. So regardless of how you start the game, your reserve edge is always your entire long board edge, and outflankers come in on the short board edge. By turn 2, the deployment type means nothing.

Nighthawke
24-02-2010, 17:43
which edge is it then if its 4 by 4 XD thats the size of boards at my store and we play it you can come on from the area your deployments on

Dangersaurus
24-02-2010, 19:34
It's in the first paragraph on how to set up a table for a game... it's odd to me how anyone can miss it. It's step one in playing, unless you consider deciding to play and making an army list steps of their own. Even if you use a square table you need to define the "long" and "short" edges before you do anything else.

e2055261
24-02-2010, 23:43
The second option. Anything else is just plain wrong. Makes sense when you think about the fluff behind spearhead.

Culven
25-02-2010, 01:12
Even if you use a square table you need to define the "long" and "short" edges before you do anything else.
It would be interesting to see what were to happen if the players played Spearhead on a square table, didn't define which was their Player's Table edge, and tried to have Outflankers move on.