PDA

View Full Version : new to orks

sharky 10
23-02-2010, 17:05
Hi as it says im new to 40k new a few basic rules but meh first army is gonna be orks ive currently got a mek dred and 3 kans and codex any tips u cud give me?

WinglessVT2
23-02-2010, 17:10
Buy a black reach set, then play some games.

Tenken
23-02-2010, 17:13
If you got 200 usd buy the ork megaforce. You can squeeze 1200 points right out of that and with your mek, kanz and dread you'll pretty much be ready for 1500 points games. Black reach is also a great investment, you get a 50 dollar rule book, a 25 dollar set of templates and then a whole bunch of orks, which as that point, are just gravy.

Tzeentch Loyalist
23-02-2010, 17:18
If you got 200 usd buy the ork megaforce. You can squeeze 1200 points right out of that and with your mek, kanz and dread you'll pretty much be ready for 1500 points games. Black reach is also a great investment, you get a 50 dollar rule book, a 25 dollar set of templates and then a whole bunch of orks, which as that point, are just gravy.

Not to mention some space marines that you can sell or trade to someone later on.

Nazdrugh
23-02-2010, 17:19
Lots of boyz.

Oh, and read this: http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60933

Grax
23-02-2010, 17:30
When in doubt, get more boyz.

Also, you might want to read this post I made a while back:

http://www.librarium-online.com/forums/orks/119200-basics.html

sharky 10
23-02-2010, 17:36
yeh im gettin black reach with a mate i want deffcoptas they look awesome

FashaTheDog
23-02-2010, 17:38
So what you can field right now is an HQ (Mek), three models for Heavy Support that can be used as individuals or a squadron (Kans), and another unit that can either be Heavy Support or because of the Big Mek HQ can be a Troops choice (Dread). Now to play you will need 1 HQ and 2 Troops. The Dread cannot claim objectives, which is 2/3 of the victory conditions, because it is a vehicle so you will need some Boyz and maybe some Grots.