PDA

View Full Version : Green stuff..uhhh

velkore1134
25-02-2010, 07:34
Green stuff noob here, probably doesn't belong here but I can't find a suitable post in spt search or anything

how long does green stuff take to dry

also google failed me

thanks again...

Moriarty
25-02-2010, 08:15
Your Google-Fu is weak, Grasshopper.

Try 'green stuff, drying time'.

Or go with 3-4 hours for painting, 24 hours for sanding.

Giganthrax
25-02-2010, 10:55
I usually leave it for 8 hours or so, just to be sure.

marv335
25-02-2010, 10:59
It's an epoxy, so the curing time (not drying) is temperature dependent.
leave it somewhere warm, and it'll cure faster. The reverse is also true.
I have a desk lamp and a silver foil backed tube of cardboard that I use to speed up curing when I'm sculpting.
Be careful when using this method with plastic models though.

LonelyPath
25-02-2010, 12:15
Just to be safe, I always leave green stuff for about 24 hours before doing anything else to it, but if you're certain it won't get messed up, it's safe to use the model in a game after 5 or 6 hours. However, I tend to do alot of my modelling in cooler parts of the house.

bossfearless
25-02-2010, 13:05
Honestly, I find that GS is cured enough to paint over within an hour or so. If all you're doing is smoothing something out or filling a gap then that's all you need before painting. If you're seriously sculpting something then you don't wana touch it for several hours or even a full day.

incarna
25-02-2010, 15:28
There are several factors that impact the curing time of green stuff. Temperature and ratio of yellow stuff to blue stuff are important factors.