PDA

View Full Version : Chaos Spawn

Smiling Banshee
19-07-2010, 15:53
Just wondered how Chaos Spawn fare in WFB. Ive got some wonderfully converted and painted Spawn from my CSM army which never see the light of day because they re so poor in 40k. Are they any better in Fantasy?

Soul of Iron
19-07-2010, 15:56
Not much better bro. They can tie units up in cc for a short while but the new step-up rule will be putting more attacks on them then before so they will die faster.

Scyla is pretty good though.

Odin
19-07-2010, 16:04
Not much better bro. They can tie units up in cc for a short while but the new step-up rule will be putting more attacks on them then before so they will die faster.

Scyla is pretty good though.

Agree with this. They used to be pretty handy for holding enemy units up for a turn, but the new combat rules mean they die far too easily to be very useful.

Of course, I'm still quite new to 8th edition rules, so maybe someone will come up with a use for them. I guess as they're cheap rare options you could take more of them now (as slots are gone), in which case they might make decent enough speedbumps. Though hounds would do the same job for half the points and not take up any of your rare allowance.

I think they ought to have mutant regeneration like Chaos Trolls. That would really suit them, fluff-wise, and would also do just enough to make them useful again.

NecroNurgle
19-07-2010, 16:12
Agree with this. They used to be pretty handy for holding enemy units up for a turn, but the new combat rules mean they die far too easily to be very useful.

Of course, I'm still quite new to 8th edition rules, so maybe someone will come up with a use for them. I guess as they're cheap rare options you could take more of them now (as slots are gone), in which case they might make decent enough speedbumps. Though hounds would do the same job for half the points and not take up any of your rare allowance.