PDA

View Full Version : Fantasy player wants to start Dark eldar

CrystalSphere
20-07-2010, 13:18
I am a veteran fantasy player but i always liked the dark eldar of wh40k (i specially like their fluff about slaanesh and their souls), i thought about getting started in 40k several times but as their book and miniatures were very old i have been waiting until they are redone.

I have read that the dark eldar are being redone in this autumn, and i was wondering if it would be worth to get the current dark eldar book, mostly for fluff reasons, to read the stories and all that. Or maybe i should simply wait until the new book (maybe the fluff will be changing with the new book?).

As i am a complete noob to wh40k, i donīt really know how much change in each codex or if there is anything i should be aware before starting dark eldar, as to which miniatures will be redone and what not, or how many miniatures does an average army has (i donīt know how "elite" the dark eldar army is). I would appreciate any advice or tip about starting dark eldar and what i should know beforehand.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Simo429
20-07-2010, 13:33
If you are reading it purely for the fluff then its up to you

CrystalSphere
20-07-2010, 15:13
Yes i guess you are right, i will try and have a look at the book to see if there is any good reading there. Do you happen to know if there is any black library book or other source i could look up as well?

If i understand correctly dark eldar are pretty much like the chaos dwarves of fantasy, which they havenīt received any update since a long time. Iīm concerned that the new book may completely revamp the old background (GW did something like that with wood elves in fantasy) and the current background would become obsolete.

Malice313
20-07-2010, 15:18
I've always love the DE too and have been waiting for the re-release for ages.