PDA

View Full Version : How do you get models to rank up neatly?

redneckviking
22-07-2010, 16:30
I'm new to WHFB and struggling to get the models to rank up neatly in base to base contact. I'm building an Orcs and Gobbos army and I'm finding there's arms, legs and pointy bits everywhere!:)
Should I build the models then position them on their bases?
Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Rincewind
22-07-2010, 16:52
Build your models so they rank up and mark the bottom of the base with a simple code to tell you their unit and location in it, for example 2-b-5 would mean unit two, rank b and model 5 from the left. White felt pens work nicely.

Spider-pope
22-07-2010, 17:25
I use a combination of Rincewinds method and repeatedly screaming obscenities at my Bloodletters when the damn things refuse to rank up the same way more than twice, despite my coding system.

marv335
22-07-2010, 17:46
You need to rank them as you assemble the models.
Build the unit in the movement tray

badguyshaveallthefun
22-07-2010, 18:18
What everyone else said. I rank them as I build them, and then number the bases so I know where they go. my system goes like this:

1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18

If it were a unit of 18 whatever, 6 wide and 3 deep.
If looked at from a top down behind the unit view. (i.e. third person)
My bases are also magnetized so that there's no scooting around once the game has started.

unheilig
22-07-2010, 18:24
for plastics, make sure you use plastic glue and not superglue... this will give you time to wiggle things about on the base before it sets.

minionboy
22-07-2010, 18:28
I always assemble my guys then glue them to the bases while in a movement tray. Also, avoid poses where you end up putting their arms way out from their body. The modular movement tray also gives you an extra mm or two, which is nice.

Hrokka `Eadsplitter
22-07-2010, 18:31
I don't.
My units are supposed to look a bit unruly, so why rank 'em nicely?:D

Gonzoyola
22-07-2010, 18:37