PDA

View Full Version : Tomb Kings

warmong3r
19-08-2010, 13:13
Okay, so i started playing warhammer fantasy in the last 2 years of 7th edition. I have a dwarf army, not too big, but that is because i really wanted tomb kings. So, i bought a battalion and started assembling and painting it, and im still not done :o, but then 8th edition arrived. I hadn't played a single game with my tomb kings and i knew nothing about them. Whether they were magic heavy like i had planned, or had magic but just weren't that focused on it. But I was excited. I also wondered whether i just wasted my money on tomb kings.

So, here is where the discussion part is. I bought the battalion because i wanted an army that focused on magic a lot. Now, is it still possible to have a magic heavy TK army in 8th edition?

Berry
19-08-2010, 13:23
It is still possible, however the magic of the TK's isn't on the same scale as the magic of base lores. But as TK magic works seperate from the winds of magic you could jam a wizard's hat and a couple of bound spells into a TK list to make it completely impossible to dispel everything for the opponant.

TK took a hit in 8th edition, so we TK players are mostly waiting for a new army book, but in the time until that happens we'll have to make due with what we have.

Enigmatik1
19-08-2010, 13:48
By design, a Tomb King army is magic heavy. Even a magic light Tomb King list (if there is such a thing) has a fair amount of magic available to it. I'm inclined to ask what exactly do you mean by magic heavy?

Do you mean lots of characters capable of wielding magic? If so, then this is a definite yes for the Kings. Most of our magic is aimed at augmentation, with only one magic missile available (and its rarely used). Only the Icon Bearer can't use magic out of our characters and if you just need all your characters doing something in the phase, you can give him a bound item.